Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with VAG COM

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2012, 12:09 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with VAG COM

I'm a new owner and have just been taking it all in as far as the VAG-COM cable. I'm a software developer so the idea of plugging into my car appeals to me, but I have to confess that I'm confused as far as what I actually need and can't make sense of the ross tech website.

I have an 2013 Audi A3 (the first in chicago as far as the dealer told me). Does anybody know what actual product I would need? Is there a chance this information isn't known yet due to the cars having just hit the US in the past week?

The only think I really care about at the moment is enabling VIM, but for the cost of the cable I'm wondering if it makes more sense to just pay a mechanic to do it for me? Is that something that mechanics will do or is it considered illegal, unethical to ask them..?

Looking forward to chatting here now that I have joined the ranks of audi owners. Thanks for any info!
Old 07-23-2012, 01:51 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The HEX-CAN interface should work on your A3.
Many of the very newest models have not been updated yet on the WIKI.

There is a list of controllers here, and I'm sure Ross-Tech is working feverishly to update the information http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...Cabriolet_(8P)

And a list of tweaks here http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...(8P/FM)_Tweaks

If in doubt, definitely call them them at +1 267 638 2300
Old 07-24-2012, 08:25 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ah great - thanks!
Old 10-21-2012, 11:15 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

They don't have some info for the new models. Give them a call to order the correct cable and ask which settings to use for VIM. You will need a program to generate the unlock code.
Old 10-21-2012, 03:46 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post