TT (Mk3) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk3 Audi TT, TT-S and TT-RS Coupe & Roadster produced from 2014- present

Need advise on buying a TT or TTS?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2021, 08:41 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Need advise on buying a TT or TTS?

I am new to the TT world. I am in my late 60s and this is most likely my last car purchase. This is my issue. I can afford to buy a newer TT (2017) or a little older TTS. If I bought the TT, I would get the APR ECU and the ARP TCU upgrades. If I bought the older TTS it will be left stock. What is the way to go. What are the pros and cons of each. Thanks for the advise, much appreciated. Thanks
Old 01-27-2021, 10:11 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 93 Likes on 53 Posts

Yikes last car purchase in late 60's? That's depressing lol. Get the TTS but make sure it's Mk3. You're never going to mod a TT into a TTS. Pros: Actual TTS with all the styling, minor details, and no tuning BS that'll show up over time. Cons: Money.
Old 01-27-2021, 11:30 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by macaddict111
Get the TTS but make sure it's Mk3. You're never going to mod a TT into a TTS. Pros: Actual TTS with all the styling, minor details, and no tuning BS that'll show up over time. Cons: Money.
I agree, the TTS is a better performer in many ways, if you can afford a MK3 TTS, its the way to go.
Old 01-27-2021, 12:34 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 84 Posts

Close to completing the 69th year myself. I specifically bought my TTS over a TT so I wouldn't be [again] tempted to mod/tune. Of course I still am on occasion but have resisted thus far.
Old 01-27-2021, 01:07 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 26 Likes on 21 Posts

IMHO,
The TTS represents the sweet spot. Better performance than the TT, but not as expensive as the TTRS.
If I were autocrossing, I'd buy the TTRS, but owning the TTS gives me 90% of the TTRS.
bob
The following 3 users liked this post by Gbob: