TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

new TT owner w/ questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2013, 01:21 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new TT owner w/ questions

Hey guys, just picked up an 02 TT 225 6sp today with 132k on the odo.

I'm new to the TT but not new to audis (also have a b5 a4 and c6 allroad).

Anyways, the car has a few problems.

1.) gauge cluster is dead. I hear module masters does a good job of rebuilding, but can a dead cluster cause other issues? I drove it home with a scangauge attached to make sure it doesn't overheat, etc.

2.) oil pressure light comes on, but only at idle. I plan on replacing the pump and pickup tube, but is there a chance that this may have something to do with issue #1?

3.) transmission goes into gear perfectly while idle or driving slow, but when shifting hard it can get very difficult to find the gear. for instance, if I rev to 4000 in 2nd and immediately try to go to third, it's almost locked out; if I wait about a second for the engine to settle, it slides right into third. I'm guessing this has something to do with worn mounts? I've got replacement rear/engine/tranny mounts coming in from ECS, but they're not shipping until the 27th.

edit: played around with the shifter linkage today, and realized the counterweight wasn't properly tightened down. It had significant up/down movement on the arm it attaches to. Fixed that problem and shifting at speed is almost completely fixed; there's a slight pause which I believe is due to the transmission mounts being shot (I was able to put almost an entire finger into the mount, where there should be rubber). Also, I think the little lever that puts the transmission in home position is broken on mine. Looked for 30 minutes before finding a dieselgeek video on how to adjust the linkage without it.