TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Headlights issues, questions, please help...

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2014, 12:47 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Headlights issues, questions, please help...

OK, have probably an extremely stupid question for all you experienced Audi owners, but I've been wracking my brain all day so here goes.

I just bought a 2005 Audi TT Quattro about a month ago (so I am a rookie and this)...actually my husband purchased it for me...well, haven't driven it a whole lot over the last month and I am still getting familiar with it. Well I don't do a whole lot of night driving, but the couple of times it has been driven at night, my husband drove, and he said that it seemed like the lights were fine, he saw the road just OK.

Today I was driving to work and it was a little overcast, so I turned the lights to the what I thought was the on position (the first position clicking it on the right)...there were no lights, so I turned it further to the right and some lights went on...but I saw in reflection in the car in front of me, not much in terms of what I would think turning on a headlight should look like.

OK, so I know I have Xenon headlights...can someone out there please tell me how these are supposed to work when in the first, second, pull out first and pull out second positions? Also what the damn lights are called on the headlight? This is how I understand it:

~Lights to the sides (the yellow ones outward) turn signal lights?
~Light next to those to the left / right going inward, the headlight?
~Light next to that in the middle...the full / high beam???
~Light RIGHT next to it in that same area, the sidelight?
~Light next to that, the last one inward, the fog light?
~And then the yellow strip on the bottom of the lights, parking?