TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

First Audi

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2012, 03:47 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Audi

Hello, I'm a newbie, just bought my mom a 2001 Quattro, I'm interested in any info I can get on owning one of these. She's staying at my house on Xmas eve n I'm gonna put it n the driveway with a bow on it. I love the style of these. Xmas wow factor.

But, I think I messed up,,, I can hear what sounds like the timing belt slapping. Tensioner gone bad??? I know there's prob lots of info a newbie like me is leaving out. But either way,,, I like the car and if she font like it,,,, I'm keepin it. Lol. It also has a bit of a rough idle also. The timing belt n water pump has 65k on it. So yeah,,, I need to change it now huh??? I'm fairly mechanically inclined. However I have been spending all my time doing up my 2006 ford F350 diesel. I rebuild the engine in that in my garage. Here is a very long thread detailing it,,,, 30k views!!!! I'm famous over there,,, lol.

http://m.ford-trucks.com/forums/show....php?t=1194018

I've read over a couple writeups on changing the timing belt n water pump n stuff, and I'm considering going it myself. But I ask you guys,,, what are the essentials for owning a tt?? Which service manual to get,,,, diagnostic software??? Ect. I've pretty much tackled the 6.0 ford diesel,,, I've got the software, manuals, and experience that is needed to keep me outta the dealers Indefinitely. I am ecstatic about how the tt feels, but I'm done driving it until I get the timing replaced. Any links, or info you all can give a newbie would be greatly appreciated.
Old 12-22-2012, 05:34 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post