Go Back   AudiWorld Forums > Audi Models > Audi A6 / S6 / RS 6 > A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Notices

A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2013, 01:07 PM   #1
SwGravity
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 273862
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Default A6 ABS fault

Hello!

About a year ago ABS and (!) light appeared in dash after riding though snow while snowstorm. So few weeks ago decided to deal with the problem and bought used one with same code and so on. So changed my ABS module and still same fault. After that had my original module soldered (that one has been opened before me), so I changed back to that one and STILL same fault. Connected my VAG-COM and if the ABS is connected program says "Interface not found". So decided to change the whole pump with the one I bought. After connecting it with car and my pc with car it finds the interface, but cant even connect to engine. Looked out fuses, everything seems to be okay. Took off the power plugs from battery to reset ECU. After that if I connected the VAG-COM it said again "Interface not found", so removed the ABS cable from the module and in finds the interface again.

So where the heck can be the problem ?

Car is Audi A6 C5 2,5Tdi '99, European Version.
SwGravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 05:10 PM   #2
GTA_Driver
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 80057
 
GTA_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,276
Default

Both modules are defective? What code did it throw originally after the snow storm?

Also, just because your problem happened after the storm, it leads me to believe you have an issue with a sensor that possibly could have gotten damaged.
GTA_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 01:48 AM   #3
SwGravity
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 273862
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Didn't diagnose it soon after the fault appeared, but if we did after changing the module, then it said it cant connect to the "ABS brakes", and if testing engine, it says:
18259 - Powertrain Data Bus : Missing Message from ABS controller
P0851 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
SwGravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 03:55 AM   #4
4Driver4
Tech Guru
Account #: 43812
 
4Driver4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 33,023
Default

Everything seems to point back to the ABS module. Do you have access to another car where you can test the modules?
__________________
4Driver4

Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional.

2005 A6 Sedan Q 3.2 (wife's whip)
2000 A4 Avant Q 2.8 (daily driver)
1980 VW Scirocco (mid-life crisis car)
1983 Mazda RX-7 (revolutionary sports car)
2003 Mini Cooper S (just because)
1995 Mazda Miata, Superdupercharged(anti-Audi)
1999 Mazda Miata SSB (track beotch, no plate)
2003 GMC Yukon Denali XL (the anti-earth)
2004 Dodge Dakota (hey, at least it's stick and 4x4)
4Driver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:10 AM   #5
SwGravity
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 273862
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Just tested cable on friend's A8 and it connected with ABS
SwGravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:20 AM   #6
SloopJohnB@mac.com
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 44417
 
SloopJohnB@mac.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwGravity View Post
Just tested cable on friend's A8 and it connected with ABS
Go to all four wheels and check the cables from the ABS sensor(s).
Also, consider testing ABS unit on another car.
SloopJohnB@mac.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:37 AM   #7
SwGravity
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 273862
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Default

But testing the module on another car means that those pump codes match ?
SwGravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:59 AM   #8
SloopJohnB@mac.com
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 44417
 
SloopJohnB@mac.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwGravity View Post
But testing the module on another car means that those pump codes match ?
On another car if the ABS codes match you can test your abs module yes.
Awkwardly phrased…but the point is that Audi didn't make unique abs modules for each car…I don't know how many different ones.

Clearly you'll have to have some friend(s) faith to allow you to remove their abs module and install yours to test if the module can be communicated with. It takes a couple hours for the first time, you have to go in through the left front wheel well which involves removing the wheel and fender liner as a minimum. Also have to remove w/s washer reservoir screws and move the reservoir slightly out of the way.
SloopJohnB@mac.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 06:01 AM   #9
SloopJohnB@mac.com
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 44417
 
SloopJohnB@mac.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,005
Default

BTW..the general indication of ABS module fails is a lit ABS and BRAKE light(s) on the instrument cluster. I'm not confident the ABS module is your problem.
SloopJohnB@mac.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 06:01 AM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2013, a6, abs, faulty


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Copyright 2014 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts