Go Back   AudiWorld Forums > Audi Models > Audi Q3 /Q5 / Q7 > Q5/SQ5 Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Notices

Q5/SQ5 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q5 SUV
Sponsored by: Audi

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2013, 04:33 AM   #1
Buckeye96
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 164501
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 147
Default I know this might be a stupid question, but humor me

I was thinking about chipping the 3.0T on my Q5 but don't want to do it to early and void the warranty. Then I got to thinking, can you source a SQ5 "chip" and replace it the Q5? Would that throw codes? Is it even possible?
Buckeye96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:08 AM   #2
scrmorling
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 256683
 
scrmorling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 471
Default

Didn't someone once say there are no stupid questions, only stupid answers? Anyway, isn't there a little more to an SQ5 motor than a different chip? I thought it had a different supercharger, plumbing, .... Spijun any specifics? Steve
__________________
2014 SQ5 Prestige. Ice Silver, Black Nappa, Carbon Atlas & Driver Assist.
scrmorling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:54 AM   #3
Transfer
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 237552
 
Transfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 168
Default

Cool idea, but I would bet heavily against it working. Along the same lines though, you could maybe get two Q5 3.0T ECUs and swap a tuned and stock one around. It's probably a monster PITA to do though. You're smart to be wary of a tune if you value your warranty though.
Transfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 06:45 AM   #4
spijun
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 184703
 
spijun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sarajevo /BiH
Posts: 1,943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrmorling View Post
Didn't someone once say there are no stupid questions, only stupid answers? Anyway, isn't there a little more to an SQ5 motor than a different chip? I thought it had a different supercharger, plumbing, .... Spijun any specifics? Steve
Believe it or not in models Q5 and SQ5: the same engine, fuel pump, fuel rail, injector, compressor....
The only difference that I found is that the SQ model has additional radiator

Q5 3.0 (272PS)/(354PS) eng. code:CTVA,CTUC / CTXA,CTUD

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.





Who wants chipping the on Q5 3.0T :
http://www.goapr.com/products/ecu_up...30tfsi_q5.html
__________________
Q5 2.0 TFSI,S-tronic,
Milano leather, B&O, 19" 5-arm polished

Excuse me for my English
spijun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:40 AM   #5
BlackSVT
Audiworld Junior Member
Account #: 250943
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrmorling View Post
Anyway, isn't there a little more to an SQ5 motor than a different chip? I thought it had a different supercharger, plumbing, .... Spijun any specifics? Steve
Nope, I know some have mentioned maybe different crank, rods, etc between 3.0T and SQ5, but nothing different has been found in the parts database other than the radiator that I'm aware of.

Audi has been "tiering" engines with software controls/restrictions for a while now it seems. In the Q5 3.0T case, it seems to mostly be in the form of more boost bleed-off on ordinary Q5s vs not on the SQ5. The supercharger is the same unit on both.
__________________
2013 Q5 3.0T Phantom/Black
BlackSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 09:11 AM   #6
Buckeye96
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 164501
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 147
Default

So is it possible? And has anyone tried? I'm thinking that if it was an official Audi tune then it would be less likely to throw a code.

Also, is it a physical chip or just a software upgrade to the existing hardware?

Spijun -- is there a specific part number for the SQ5 chip?
Buckeye96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 09:40 AM   #7
spijun
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 184703
 
spijun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sarajevo /BiH
Posts: 1,943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye96 View Post
So is it possible? And has anyone tried? I'm thinking that if it was an official Audi tune then it would be less likely to throw a code.

Also, is it a physical chip or just a software upgrade to the existing hardware?

Spijun -- is there a specific part number for the SQ5 chip?
This is a control module for all petrol engines hardware is the same, only difference in the software

There is one problem, it's empty hardware and software goes online directly from Germany

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Q5 2.0 TFSI,S-tronic,
Milano leather, B&O, 19" 5-arm polished

Excuse me for my English

Last edited by spijun; 12-05-2013 at 09:44 AM.
spijun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 10:40 AM   #8
scrmorling
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 256683
 
scrmorling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spijun View Post
Believe it or not in models Q5 and SQ5: the same engine, fuel pump, fuel rail, injector, compressor....
The only difference that I found is that the SQ model has additional radiator
Seriously? Same valving on the supercharger? Same inlet manifold? Same exhaust manifold? Clearly, the exhaust system is different somewhere along its path to accommodate the dual tips.

The SQ5 also has the Soundaktor which has be worth a few HP (j/k).

Steve
__________________
2014 SQ5 Prestige. Ice Silver, Black Nappa, Carbon Atlas & Driver Assist.
scrmorling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 10:59 AM   #9
Buckeye96
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 164501
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spijun View Post
This is a control module for all petrol engines hardware is the same, only difference in the software

There is one problem, it's empty hardware and software goes online directly from Germany

Click the image to open in full size.
So what would happen if I found an SQ5 in a wrecking yard and was able to pull the hardware?
Buckeye96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 11:13 AM   #10
Parsec
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 226959
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye96 View Post
So what would happen if I found an SQ5 in a wrecking yard and was able to pull the hardware?
It means you're sleeping because that would only happen in your dreams.
__________________
Hers: 2012 Audi Q5 2.0T Ibis White/Cinnamon
Mine: 2006 Honda Ridgeline RTL
Parsec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 11:13 AM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Copyright 2014 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts