Go Back   AudiWorld Forums > Audi Models > Audi A6 / S6 / RS 6 > A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Notices

A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 12:15 PM   #1
martyn brooks
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 154639
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default fuel/temp gauge problems

hi i have a 2004 c5 a6 saloon 130 tdi multronic my problem is as soon as i turn car ignition on my fuel gauge jumps striaght up to half way mark.?? and when i put fuel it rises acordingly and when it goes back down at just below half way the low level warning symbol [ petrol pump]will light up.??it seems its woking from half way up to full and back down to half.is there any way to recalabrat/ reset with vagcom ect sombody said it could be voltage regulator or dry soldering in insrument cluster because the temp is affected ?/so i have removed cluster and found no dry solder/every thing else looked good .had sombody look at sender in tank.he said it looked ok.even run car after fuel warning light came on to see if needle would go further down.ended up running out of fuel ha ha.to which says sender is doing its job..also temp gauge goes immediately up to 60dgs when ignition is turned on and when warm goes up to 110dgs instead of 90dgs which is the same distant on gauge as zero to 60dgs .are these two problems related?????????? can anybody help please,,
martyn brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 10:54 AM   #2
GTA_Driver
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 80057
 
GTA_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,276
Default

you can send your cluster to module master or paul from pixelfix.info to diagnose if it is indeed your cluster.

did you buy a car with this problem, or did it work fine and then suddenly "broke down" on you?

edit: since you're not from north america, you should find a local solution to diagnosing the cluster. MM and pixelfix are in the US and Canada, respectively.

did you scan the instrument cluster for codes? you'll need vag-com/VCDS for this.
__________________
2005 AR 2.7 Black: GIAC stage 1, 710N, H-sport sway bars, Depo LED taillights

Past Audis: 2001 A6 4.2 | 2000 A4 1.8T Quattro 5-spd | 1993 100 CS Quattro | 1984 5000 CD turbo FWD
GTA_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 08:46 AM   #3
martyn brooks
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 154639
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA_Driver View Post
you can send your cluster to module master or paul from pixelfix.info to diagnose if it is indeed your cluster.

did you buy a car with this problem, or did it work fine and then suddenly "broke down" on you?

edit: since you're not from north america, you should find a local solution to diagnosing the cluster. MM and pixelfix are in the US and Canada, respectively.

did you scan the instrument cluster for codes? you'll need vag-com/VCDS for this.
thanks for your reply gta.yes i bought car with problem.and i have car on a snapon vagcom which showed no codes ?? i am just trying to find sombody who has had the same problem that can pinpiont the above problems with the gauges..ps i live in bury/manchester/england.hope sombody can help
martyn brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 08:46 AM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Copyright 2014 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts