Go Back   AudiWorld Forums » Audi Models » Audi A6 / S6 / RS 6 » A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to AudiWorld!
Welcome to AudiWorld.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join AudiWorld.com today!


Notices

A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Discussion Forums:
Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2013, 04:58 AM   #1
jimmyjames72
Audiworld Junior Member
2004 Audi A6
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 59
Default Blown Amp? why no sound from stereo

2004 auda A6 2.7T ..the stereo turns on and lights up and looks like its playing but i have no sound..cant use the cd player or the cassette deck either..it wont even let me eject the cassette that is in there? any ideas?
jimmyjames72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 05:49 AM   #2
Just Me
AudiWorld Super User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,761
Default

In general, you'll have to do some diagnosis. But I'll wager one idea. I have seen stereos lock upand need a re-boot. Find the radio fuse, pull it, and give it another try.

Alternately, did a CD get jammed?

Grant
__________________
glenahan@vee-eff-email*dot*net
Just Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 02:56 PM   #3
jimmyjames72
Audiworld Junior Member
2004 Audi A6
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 59
Default

pulled the fuse already..number 37 ithink...still nothing...never even had a cd in it...i do have a cassette thing in it to play from my phone but i cant even eject that now..what the heck..
jimmyjames72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 03:39 PM   #4
jcman
AudiWorld Senior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,529
Default

Did your radio work before the cassette aux input adapter?

Chances are that the adapter is jammed causing other problems,
you might have to remove the radio and take it to someone who can take it apart to release the cassette adapter first to see if that remedies the problem, other than that with vagcom you might have a clue with a radio module code or error.

Does your Symphony II have the Sat button feature like my 04, XM is free up to 12/03.
__________________
They say that life's a carousel,
spinning fast, you've got to ride it well.
jcman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 05:03 PM   #5
Just Me
AudiWorld Super User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,761
Default

Oh wait, new info, we put a foreign object in the unit and wonder why it isn't working........

Somehow, get it out. Then report b ack.

O&O.

Grant
__________________
glenahan@vee-eff-email*dot*net
Just Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 05:55 PM   #6
GTA_Driver
AudiWorld Super User
2005 Audi Allroad
 
GTA_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyjames72 View Post
2004 auda A6 2.7T ..the stereo turns on and lights up and looks like its playing but i have no sound..cant use the cd player or the cassette deck either..it wont even let me eject the cassette that is in there? any ideas?
What about radio? You didn't specify if you can hear it.
GTA_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:40 AM   #7
jimmyjames72
Audiworld Junior Member
2004 Audi A6
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 59
Default

first there isnt any foreign object in the stereo, its a cassette adaptor you but in and then plug into your phone to listen to music...and yes i dont have any sound at all from the speakers ..the unit powers up and looks like it is playing but i dont get sound.? when i turn it on i get for a split secon sound, then it goes right out....i pulled the radio fuse and then put back in, still nothing..and what does RNS OFF mean? cause that shows up on the radio screen.? does the amp power all speakers and then if so this may have blown out somehow ? its weird though why it doesnt even let me ejeect the casette adaptor or even put a cd in at all either......has anyone ever heard of this?
jimmyjames72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 11:16 AM   #8
GTA_Driver
AudiWorld Super User
2005 Audi Allroad
 
GTA_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,276
Default

Sounds like your radio is having issues. It should accept a CD, and you should be able to switch between CD, Cassette, and Radio modes, regardless of what is inserted into the tape deck.
__________________
2005 AR 2.7 Black: GIAC stage 1, 710N, H-sport sway bars, Depo LED taillights

Past Audis: 2001 A6 4.2 | 2000 A4 1.8T Quattro 5-spd | 1993 100 CS Quattro | 1984 5000 CD turbo FWD
GTA_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 12:09 PM   #9
jcman
AudiWorld Senior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,529
Default

I'm trying to help you with your problem but you have not answered two of my questions about a "unknown to us" condition before and if you have the SAT feature.

There is a reason for this.
__________________
They say that life's a carousel,
spinning fast, you've got to ride it well.
jcman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 01:15 PM   #10
SloopJohnB@mac.com
AudiWorld Super User
2002 Audi S6
 
SloopJohnB@mac.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Me View Post
Oh wait, new info, we put a foreign object in the unit and wonder why it isn't working........

Somehow, get it out. Then report b ack.

O&O.

Grant
LOL….remember when the kid put oatmeal into the VCR…..
SloopJohnB@mac.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 01:15 PM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
04, 2009, a6, a8, amp, amplifier, audi, blown, car, radio, reprogram, s4, sound, sounds, stereo, tsb, tt




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Discussion Forums:


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts