Go Back   AudiWorld Forums > Audi Models > Audi A8 / S8 > A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Notices

A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 09:14 AM   #1
brigadier
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 99035
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default VIN decoder

Hi!
I'm looking to buy A8 D3 in UK and asked vin from two of them to check the options, but the decoder shows We could not find any information for VIN for both of them. Does it only work on vin's for NA market?
Thanks.
brigadier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:24 AM   #2
brigadier
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 99035
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

wauzzz4e24n009246
wauzzz4dzyn010185
Thanks!
brigadier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:14 AM   #3
brigadier
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 99035
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

The registration number only tells me if it's had any accidents, outstanding finance etc. It doesn't tell me options of the car. You know how they all state fully loaded? Well most of them are far from it. I guess if they compare it to Polo it's fully loaded, but no double glazing, self-closing doors, distronic and so on.
brigadier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:43 AM   #4
mishar
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 195381
 
mishar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4,165
Default

You may ask for a picture of the label next to the spare wheel. There are all options listed. I am not sure that VIN decoders, at least ones publicly accessible, will tell you that.
mishar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:49 AM   #5
JohnnyJ A6Q
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 188404
 
JohnnyJ A6Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montgomery, NJ
Posts: 709
Default Sorry I could not help.

Ask for the info off the tag in boot by spare tire, get a picture of it, that should list all options installed codes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 27.jpg (16.5 KB, 237 views)
JohnnyJ A6Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:52 AM   #6
JohnnyJ A6Q
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 188404
 
JohnnyJ A6Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montgomery, NJ
Posts: 709
Default

I was busy finding my picture while Mishar was posting

EDIT:

Use one of these to decode.

http://prsearch.planetvag.com/

http://igorweb.org/equidec/Default.aspx

Last edited by JohnnyJ A6Q; 03-11-2013 at 11:02 AM.
JohnnyJ A6Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:32 AM   #7
Jake-AudiUSAParts
Audiworld Platinum Sponsor
Account #: 211756
 
Jake-AudiUSAParts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyJ A6Q View Post
I was busy finding my picture while Mishar was posting

EDIT:

Use one of these to decode.

http://prsearch.planetvag.com/

http://igorweb.org/equidec/Default.aspx
I am able to get the entire PR number breakdown for your VIN's but my computer is not allowing me to print or save it so I have no way of getting the entire breakdown to you. If you have specific questions about them I am more than happy to answer.
__________________

TOLL FREE 877-601-3061
Jake-AudiUSAParts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:36 PM   #8
wug
Audiworld Junior Member
Account #: 253888
 
wug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 68
Default

I have checked both VIN's. None of them works. I believe something is wrong with the VIN.
__________________
D3 W12 LWB
wug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:11 PM   #9
mishar
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 195381
 
mishar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake-AudiUSAParts View Post
I am able to get the entire PR number breakdown for your VIN's but my computer is not allowing me to print or save it so I have no way of getting the entire breakdown to you. If you have specific questions about them I am more than happy to answer.
If you use Windows 7 or higher you can use Snipping tool to create screen (or part of it) image. If older Windows Ctrl + Print Screen and Paste in a document.
mishar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:53 PM   #10
brigadier
AudiWorld Newcomer
Account #: 99035
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Jake - if you can prtscr and email it to zvaigzn3@gmail.com that would be great.

Is there any software that decodes audi vin's like etka or elsa? Like EPC does for MB.
brigadier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:53 PM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2011, a5, a8, audi, decoder, delivery, engine, find, location, number, options, s5, tt, uk, vin


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Copyright 2014 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts