Go Back   AudiWorld Forums » Audi Models » Audi S4 / RS4 » S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to AudiWorld!
Welcome to AudiWorld.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join AudiWorld.com today!


Notices

S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Discussion Forums:
Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2011, 07:21 AM   #1
jjm82
AudiWorld Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
Default P1650, P0103 ---- Installed USED HITACHI MAF

I have
2000 B5S4
Stg 3- VAST tuned
TIPTRONIC

----My Car gets 2 codes after AUTO SCANNED and is in extremely undstable condition in idle---

I just got an used HITACHI MAF.(Seller said he tested and was good)
It came with HITACHI MAF plug.
I cut the BOSCH plug end and connected with the HITACHI plug(Colors match).
* I just twisted wires and individually wrapped with electrical tape. No soldering


VAST ECU service
CEL removed
1. 2ndary Air injection pump,
2. CAT(piggie pipe)

ECU Reprogrammed
1. HITACHI MAF
2. METH/WATER Tune


After ECU and HITACHI MAF installed, I connected BATTERY and put ignition ON(no start) for 3 mins.
I turned off and ON(no start) again and USED VAG to recode the INSTRUMENT Clust. and recoded for '0' value(previous setting was 1024) for HITACHI MAF.

I cleared codes turn off/ON again and started the car.


Began to start good sound but it immediately began to shake the whole car at idle.

I did not drive the car on the street but very little distance the car is in unstable condition. When I step on the gas, the car stops shaking but if foot off the gas it begins to shake the whole car.


Saturday,10,September,2011,22:33:18:59758
VCDS Version: Release 10.6.4 (x64)
Data version: 20110418


Chassis Type: 8D - Audi A4 B5
Scan: 01 02 03 08 15 16 17 25 35 37 45 55 56 57 67 75 76 77

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Address 01: Engine Labels: 078-907-551-AZA.lbl
Part No: 8D0 907 551 L
Component: JMS3MinusV1 G 0002
Coding: 06651
Shop #: WSC 06435
VCID: 336BEB982BA5

2 Faults Found:
18058 - Powertrain Data Bus: Missing Message from Instrument Cluster
P1650 - 35-00 - -
16487 - Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70): Signal too High
P0103 - 35-00 - -
Readiness: 0110 0000

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Address 35: Centr. Locks Labels: 8D0-862-257.lbl
Part No: 8L0 862 257 N
Component: CV-Pump D11
Coding: 16140
Shop #: WSC 06325
VCID: 4081B4546A13

2 Faults Found:
01370 - Alarm triggered by Interior Monitoring
35-00 - -
00955 - Key 1
09-00 - Adaptation Limit Surpassed

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Address 45: Inter. Monitor Labels: 4B0-951-173.lbl
Part No: 4B0 951 173
Component: Innenraumueberw. D03
Coding: 00101
Shop #: WSC 06325
VCID: E0C1D4D44AD3

No fault code found.

End ---------------------------------------------------------------------




I believe last 2 codes are popped up because my door was open while I was auto scannin. The first 2 codes keep coming back even after I cleared them up. Can this be caused by an incorrect ECU reprogramming?

2 Faults Found:

18058 - Powertrain Data Bus: Missing Message from Instrument Cluster
P1650 - 35-00 - -
16487 - Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70): Signal too High
P0103 - 35-00 - -

Last edited by jjm82; 09-10-2011 at 07:07 PM.
jjm82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:26 AM   #2
jjm82
AudiWorld Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
Default

First time really worrying about my ECU.
Iv never really paid attention to my ECU type. Can you tell me if my ECU is TYPE B? The part number on the top of the ECU ends with letter "B".

Is it possible that reprogramin ECU might have altered the type of ECU? For Ex. From Type-B to Type-M?

Sorry I know it is a very noob question but seriously I could not find any where about this information. May be it is too basic...

Last edited by jjm82; 09-10-2011 at 07:10 PM.
jjm82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:51 AM   #3
x19
AudiWorld Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Default

Hi, Can you drive a car?
You may need to make drive cycle on FWY or street if you can. Then you will see the CEL on I/Panel. If you are unable to drive on FWY, you have an ECM problem may be, Reprograming may need? Good luck. x19
x19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 09:39 AM   #4
jjm82
AudiWorld Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x19 View Post
Hi, Can you drive a car?
You may need to make drive cycle on FWY or street if you can. Then you will see the CEL on I/Panel. If you are unable to drive on FWY, you have an ECM problem may be, Reprograming may need? Good luck. x19
i can drive the car but it is extremely unstable... even on throttle it shakes the entire car. i can drive but as soon as i take the foot off it shakes like crazy and it stalls...
jjm82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 06:52 PM   #5
jjm82
AudiWorld Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
Default

This morning i pulled the MAF plug and the car doesn't behave like yesterday (extreme vibration, jerking and stallin).

But this message keeps showing even though all my guages are working fine
18058 - Powertrain Data Bus: Missing Message from Instrument Cluster
P1650 - 35-00 - -

anyone got an idea please?
jjm82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 05:40 PM   #6
Flyboy
AudiWorld Super User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 3,798
Default

I think recoding to zero would be what you'd do if you were going to use a Bosch MAF. 1027 looks to be the value for a Hitachi L-Box.

Perhaps the wiring was not done correctly for the Hitachi MAF. The fact that it ran poorly with the MAF connected and then ok with it disconnected is a pretty sure sign you have a MAF issue. Either wiring, recoding, installation, or bad unit.

I'd first recheck how you wired it up. Then log blk 003 to see what the g/s values are at idle. I think it should be between 5-7 g/s (that's a guess from memory, Bentley manual will have the actual range).

Check this doc for help with the MAF wiring:

http://awe-tuning.com/media/pdf/RSK0...UPDATE_2.0.pdf
__________________
www.MyAudiS4.com
Stock -> APR Stg1/2 -> GIAC Stg2 -> APR K04 Stg3 -> EPL TiAL 605 -> V̶A̶S̶T̶ EPL/Frankenturbo F4H -> Stock-ish
Flyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 04:43 PM   #7
jjm82
AudiWorld Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
Default

I think I just made a stupidest mistake... I accidentally cut the signal wire and the insulation together when I installed... Is there anyway I can fix this without replacing the entire MAF wireharness?

Also what is happening with cluster not being recognized by ECU?

"Step 4:
With the razor, carefully slice the black harness insulation up and
away from the connector. Be very careful to only cut this outer insulation,
and not the wires themselves.
With the wire cutters, cut the wires at the connector, as shown in Figure
3. Cut as close as you can to the connector. Slide off the Bosch
sensor rubber boot and slide on the new Hitachi sensor rubber boot."


Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyboy View Post
I think recoding to zero would be what you'd do if you were going to use a Bosch MAF. 1027 looks to be the value for a Hitachi L-Box.

Perhaps the wiring was not done correctly for the Hitachi MAF. The fact that it ran poorly with the MAF connected and then ok with it disconnected is a pretty sure sign you have a MAF issue. Either wiring, recoding, installation, or bad unit.

I'd first recheck how you wired it up. Then log blk 003 to see what the g/s values are at idle. I think it should be between 5-7 g/s (that's a guess from memory, Bentley manual will have the actual range).

Check this doc for help with the MAF wiring:

http://awe-tuning.com/media/pdf/RSK0...UPDATE_2.0.pdf
jjm82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 04:43 PM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
06651, a4, air, audi, b5, code, coding, engine, flow, hitachi, maf, mass, p0103, p1650, s4, sensor




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Discussion Forums:


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts