A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

2007-08 Audi A4 - Should I buy? What to look out for?

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2010, 10:27 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007-08 Audi A4 - Should I buy? What to look out for?

I'm new to this, and i'm looking for a 2007-08 certified pre owned audi a4 2.0 quattro. It is either this or lease a 2010 acura tsx. I really never liked japanese cars, and I love audi's. This will be my first car purchase ever, i'm 18 years old driving my mom's old nissan minivan .

I have a lot of friends who have these cars. My friend has a 2006 with 40k on the clock and no problems. Another friend has a 2008 with the nice looking s-line package no problems. But, one of them has a 2007 and has that crazy oil problem. When you prop open the trunk all you see is empty bottles of castrol syntec, no joke...

So, I would definately rather have this car in my driveway, but how do I know i'm not buying a lemon with the oil burning problem. Other than carfax there's no way to really know... and carfax sucks.

I am definately not a pro with cars and I just learned how to do my own oil changes... I also know alot of mechanics who specialize in german cars and they told me to stay away, but I really can't audi's are just the ****

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I'm so lost and I can't afford to buy a lemon I probably make less than everyone on this forum =P. I do know how they are to maintain on a regular basis with oil changes, tires, brake pads, and the whole nine yards.

If you are a mechanic or know about the B7 PLEASE give me some advice, I can't be putting $24-27k into an synthetic oil beast. And please let me know some common maintenance issues besides the timing belt @ 60k. I really appreciate it
Old 04-17-2010, 10:49 PM
AudiWorld Member