Go Back   AudiWorld Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4 > A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Notices

A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2009, 05:17 PM   #1
moloveshisaudi1254
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 160090
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 235
Default Loose bolt on subframe need solution.

Hello again to all members. When installing the lower, rear (bent) control on the front passenger side of my car I noticed that one of the three bolts on the subframe was loose. The bolt is one of the smaller bolts and is closer to the rear end of the vehicle. When I try to tighten the bolt (or loosen) it just spins around and doesn't go in or out. The other smaller bolt and the larger bolt (closer to the arm itself) is solid and I was able to tighten both of them properly. How much of a risk is it to the car and my safety to just neglect it? What are ways to fix it? Should I pry it out and tap new threads since it seems like the threads are worn out? Thanks for all the help in advance.
__________________
1996 A4 Quattro, 12v V6 (AFC)
moloveshisaudi1254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 07:59 PM   #2
moloveshisaudi1254
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 160090
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 235
Default Here is the Bolt in question



The other two are fine and art tightened properly.
__________________
1996 A4 Quattro, 12v V6 (AFC)
moloveshisaudi1254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 09:43 AM   #3
A400
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 63033
 
A400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,931
Default

Mine was also like you described. I think that is where the aftermarket subframe stiffener would hook in. I didnt put an insert in when I installed the bar and havent had a problem. Tim @ NEA said it would be fine as long as grade 8 bolts were properly torqued. Has lack of this bolt caused any problems for anyone?
Rod
A400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 09:43 AM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
100, a3, a4, audi, bolt, bolts, car, fix, frame, insert, loose, mount, subframe, threads, vr6


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Copyright 2014 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts