Go Back   AudiWorld Forums > Audi Models > Audi A6 / S6 / RS 6 > A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Notices

A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007-present

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2009, 07:57 PM   #1
am_ver
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 161252
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,347
Default Fusebox location on A6 (c6)

Can anyone tell me where the fusebox is on this car - I want to hardwire my radar detector (valentine 1). I opened the dome light, but could not figure out where to tap the wire into.
__________________
2006 A6 3.2 Quattro, Midnight blue/beige, Nav (retrofit), Koni FSD + Eibach springs,V1 hardwired (fusebox) - CD on dash, LED DRL, K-MACS, RS Style grill.
You can't call me a badge-ho - I'm de-BADGED!
Past:
2008 BMW 335i convertible (e93); 2007 BMW 335i coupe (e92); 2006 BMW 325i sedan (e90)

Banned from QuattroWorld
am_ver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 10:27 PM   #2
Eric5412
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 99408
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 296
Default

I wired mine into the fuse panel on the drivers side of dash.Here's a pic with the cover off: Click the image to open in full size.
Eric5412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 11:08 PM   #3
PersonaNonGrata
Audiworld Junior Member
Account #: 163214
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 60
Default

There is also another fuse panel on the passenger side of the dash like the one pictured.
PersonaNonGrata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 08:30 AM   #4
am_ver
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 161252
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,347
Default

Thanks - which slot should I be using for the valentine 1? Appreciate your help!
__________________
2006 A6 3.2 Quattro, Midnight blue/beige, Nav (retrofit), Koni FSD + Eibach springs,V1 hardwired (fusebox) - CD on dash, LED DRL, K-MACS, RS Style grill.
You can't call me a badge-ho - I'm de-BADGED!
Past:
2008 BMW 335i convertible (e93); 2007 BMW 335i coupe (e92); 2006 BMW 325i sedan (e90)

Banned from QuattroWorld
am_ver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 08:54 AM   #5
Buddah
Audiworld Junior Member
Account #: 107075
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by am_ver View Post
Thanks - which slot should I be using for the valentine 1? Appreciate your help!
I used the one on the passenger side to hard wire my V1

we actually have 3 fuse panels: one on each side of dash and one in the trunk.
Buddah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 12:58 PM   #6
mikegilbert
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 157820
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PNW
Posts: 198
Default

I think you'll find this thread very useful

http://forums.audiworld.com/showthread.php?t=2604331
__________________
flickr |Bestcoast | Funbags | mikegilbertphotography.com
mikegilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 08:13 PM   #7
jinwa
Audiworld Junior Member
Account #: 162617
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default

I used the fuse for the shift gate which is on the passenger side fuse block. I purchased a "fuse tap" at a local auto parts store. It replaces the existing fuse and has a lead to supply power to your new accessory. There is a bolt behind the side cover panel for securing the ground wire to. I secured the V1 plug port near the fuse block and ran the V1 connecting wire up the A pillar and across the headliner to the V1 which I have just to the right of the rear view mirror.

Using the fuse tap made it simple. They only cost a couple bucks and you don't have to remove lower dash panels and fuse blocks to locate just the right wire to place an inline power tap clip (like V1 provides).
jinwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 07:49 PM   #8
am_ver
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 161252
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,347
Default

Thanks everyone!! I was able to hardwire my V1. Used a mini add a circuit and tapped into fuse #20 (heated washer fluid) - this is off when car is off and powers on when you insert the key. My ground wire was not connected properly initially because of which the V1 was not getting power - eventually using the bolt just above the fuses worked. For right now, the Concealed Display has gone above the ashtray (similar to my 335 'vert setup); and the wire to the V1 goes up the driver side A-pillar and the V1 is clipped onto the sun visor since CA law makes sticking anything to the windshield illegal - yeah, I know ... u see so many people with those gps's attached using suction cups - but it is a cop is really mean and doesn't like the fact that you are using a radar detector, he could get u for that!!
__________________
2006 A6 3.2 Quattro, Midnight blue/beige, Nav (retrofit), Koni FSD + Eibach springs,V1 hardwired (fusebox) - CD on dash, LED DRL, K-MACS, RS Style grill.
You can't call me a badge-ho - I'm de-BADGED!
Past:
2008 BMW 335i convertible (e93); 2007 BMW 335i coupe (e92); 2006 BMW 325i sedan (e90)

Banned from QuattroWorld
am_ver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:06 PM   #9
zerosurf
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 164894
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Hi,

I could not get a 5A "fuse tap" from my local store. Got 10A and connected it to the A/C compressor (#17, I think). However, the problem is that the radar will not turn off. Any advise to which 10A fuse switched circuit to use?

Thanks
zerosurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 02:59 PM   #10
am_ver
AudiWorld Senior Member
Account #: 161252
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,347
Default

Get a 'Mini add a circuit' - http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=071-585

I added a 3A fuse on the new circuit; I think it needs to be only 1A. I used #20 slot on the Driver side fuse panel.

A lot of times the electrical will not turn off after you take your key out until you open a door. Maybe thats what you are experiencing. I think you want to try a different slot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerosurf View Post
Hi,

I could not get a 5A "fuse tap" from my local store. Got 10A and connected it to the A/C compressor (#17, I think). However, the problem is that the radar will not turn off. Any advise to which 10A fuse switched circuit to use?

Thanks
__________________
2006 A6 3.2 Quattro, Midnight blue/beige, Nav (retrofit), Koni FSD + Eibach springs,V1 hardwired (fusebox) - CD on dash, LED DRL, K-MACS, RS Style grill.
You can't call me a badge-ho - I'm de-BADGED!
Past:
2008 BMW 335i convertible (e93); 2007 BMW 335i coupe (e92); 2006 BMW 325i sedan (e90)

Banned from QuattroWorld

Last edited by am_ver; 06-29-2009 at 03:03 PM.
am_ver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 02:59 PM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2006, 2007, 325ci, 335, audi, b5, bmw, box, c6, convertible, diagram, find, fuse, location, s4


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Copyright 2014 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts