Go Back   AudiWorld Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4 > A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Notices

A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2004, 12:04 AM   #1
quattrobraker
New Member
Account #: 67895
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 27
Default "press clutch to start the engine"???

How do u get the message "press clutch to start the engine". I tried everything and it doesnt come up.
quattrobraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 12:37 AM   #2
IOKEPA
Senior Member
Account #: 75619
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9,434
Default umm, maybe its because you have an automatic?

IOKEPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 12:47 AM   #3
quattrobraker
New Member
Account #: 67895
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 27
Default lol, dude...

you are insulting my intelligence
I have a 6-spd man
quattrobraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 01:20 AM   #4
bbaudi382
AudiWorld Super User
Account #: 61604
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4,276
Default turn key in on position....but dont start ignition

__________________
NO SIG
bbaudi382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 01:39 AM   #5
ex-quattro PETE
AudiWorld Expert
Account #: 16447
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 25,416
Default What country are you in?

AFAIK, that message only shows up on clusters coded for the US (are they trying to tell them something? :-0)). For example, after I recoded my US cluster (with VAG-COM) to "Germany" or "Rest of the world", this message is no longer displayed.
ex-quattro PETE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 03:36 AM   #6
quattrobraker
New Member
Account #: 67895
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: What country are you in?

Sweden. I knew that it only showed on us cars but then I saw pic of euro A4 (km/h) with that message so I thought maybe it works for non-us too...
quattrobraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 03:44 AM   #7
ex-quattro PETE
AudiWorld Expert
Account #: 16447
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 25,416
Default well, it will probably show if you recode your cluster to "USA".

Of course then your odometer will show miles instead of km. :-)

Personally, I'm glad that message no longer shows on mine. It's for dummies. Next thing you know it'll say "Turn the wheel clockwise to make a right turn"... ;-)
ex-quattro PETE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 05:34 AM   #8
downtown MTL
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 12715
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 318
Default You should be able to re-code for Canada. It shows the msg, and we use metric measurements here...

__________________
2008 A4 2.0T Q-Tip/SE/S-line/Tech Pkg/iPod
downtown MTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 08:19 AM   #9
Krendor
Junior Member
Account #: 57702
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 727
Default wish I lived in your country not full of idiot's thqt start car in gear and sue

Krendor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 10:02 AM   #10
ThreePointSlow
AudiWorld Member
Account #: 68709
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Default us americans is stoopid...

__________________
---
'04 A4 Avant 3.0 6sp, Premium, Sport
ThreePointSlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 10:02 AM
AudiWorld
Audi R8




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
03, 98, a2, a4, audi, automatic, b6, cluster, clutch, cluth, engine, message, press, shows, start


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Copyright 2014 AudiWorld.com Audi Enthusiast Community

Personal Contacts