A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

2.8 cam chain and tensioner replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2013, 05:47 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.8 cam chain and tensioner replacement

Greetings, everybody. This is my first post here. I'm a gearhead who has owned lots of Saabs with a few Volvos and Volkswagens mixed in but I'm brand new to the world of Audis. I've always thought they were neat cars and like getting into something new to me.

Long story short, I recently was given this Cashmere Grey 2000 A6 2.8 with 192k miles by my father-in-law. He's an Audi guy (has owned a couple of A8s) and this was a car he'd bought for my wife's sister. Dealer serviced since it was purchased in '08 but kind of cosmetically rough now (she hit a lot of things at low speed and didn't keep the interior clean). But the price was right for me ($0) and I thought it would be a nice car to fix up and add to our fleet. It looks nicer in the pics than in person. But I digress.

The reason this this car is free is because it needs some expensive engine work. Here is the analysis from the dealer:
Customer states the check engine light is on. Client states vehicle stalls out while driving. Verified.
Codes: P1519 Bank 1 camshaft adjustment malfunction. Also codes for misfires on cylinders 1, 2, and 3. Checked timing belt. Belt OK. Set engine to TDC and removed bank 1 valve cover. Found intake camshaft out of time and plastic chain tensioner guide broken. Also found damage to chain. Quoted repairs. Customer declined repairs.
From what I can gather is that at a minimum it's going to need new tensioner guides and probably a new chain. I've seen that these guides are available separately on eBay, Amazon, etc. (see here: http://goo.gl/TqSx6H).

So here are my questions