S6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi S6 produced from 2012 - 2017

Subwoofer Installed

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2014, 03:23 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Subwoofer Installed

Just installed a Kicker SubStation all in one enclosure/sub/amp in the trunk. Part # PES10C. I have a 2013 S6 with the factory Bose system. I researched quite a bit and picked this product for the following reasons:

1. All in one sub/amp/enclosure
2. Sealed enclosure
3. Class D Amplifier
4. High quality sub
5. High level inputs
6. Easily removable with quick cable attachment couplers
7 Automatic on/off (eliminates the need for a remote power on wire)

The downside is the price. About $500.

Instillation was extremely easy. I am a novice-intermediate mechanic at best. I purchased the amplifier instillation kit from Kicker as well that contained everything I needed for the install except for basic hand tools. Here is a brief outline of the instillation process:

-Removed the spare tire
-Disconnected the negative battery terminal
-Connected the positive power cable to the positive terminal of the battery with an inline fuse close to the battery (included in kit)
-Connected the negative power cable to an existing ground bolt in the trunk
-There is a connector about 4 inches from the existing sub on the driver’s side. You can reach it through a hole in the bottom of the rear deck. Disconnect this. There are three wires. The brown with blue stripe is + and the brown with white stripe is -. You can find these wires coming directly from the Bose amp as well. Using the speaker cables in the instillation kit I spliced the brown/blue + wire to the two + wires on the high level inputs on the sub and spliced the brown/white - wire to the two - wires on the high level input connector on the amp.
-Trimmed and connected the power cables to the amp.
-Reconnected the negative battery cable.