S6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi S6 produced from 2012 - 2017

Starting my Due Diligence

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2024, 11:39 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting my Due Diligence

I'm new to the AW forums, but I am here for a reason. I'm shopping for my next vehicle after thankfully getting myself out of the black hole that is Tesla. I couldn't deal with driving that car to the service center every other week, and I'm glad it's gone. I sold that thing back in 2021, and it's been a while since I needed a car, but times change.

I fell for the C7 S6 years ago, back when I was still a young teen. I loved the clean styling and simple interior, as well as the beautiful exhaust note. I used to see them driving out of the dealership that was a few blocks from my house all the time. I started looking at a few units that were for sale on the used market around the country, and I started looking for sources of info on these cars. I haven't been able to find a ton of info, so I figured I'd post some of my questions here. I should clarify, I'm looking at 2017-2018 model year units, only because my insurance doesn't like it when I buy cars that are older than 8 years, and those are the two model years that have Android Auto natively.

My questions on these cars are the following:
  1. To those who own them, how are these cars to drive? What's your favorite points about the car?
  2. I'm aware of the turbo filter screen issue on these V8s, but I don't know much more beyond that. Anyone have any information on this known issue or other known issues with the S6 powertrain/drivetrain?
  3. What common issues should I know about in general on these cars? I should clarify that I live in the northeast, rust is always on my mind.
  4. Are the sport seats comfortable for long drives? I am a slightly larger guy, hence my username, and I feel like I would prefer the comfort seats.