Audi Original "S" Cars Discussion forum for the Audi Audi Ur S4, Ur S6, S2 & RS2

I'm going to pick up a 93 S4...

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2006, 04:44 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I'm going to pick up a 93 S4...

I just started at a new dealer and we have a 93 S4 that the owner wants to part with. Needing an ECM, clutch worn but not slipping yet, although had a huge boost leak, rust on the pass front fender, from Canada. 122Km, not perfect but near mint black leather interior, one owner. Damn I can't wait, it's gonna be nice to get back in an old school german car. I'm a tech, but at my old dealer we never saw anything older than a 98, so I'll be in here soon on a regular basis.
Old 04-22-2006, 04:47 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Why does it need an ECM/ECU?
Old 04-22-2006, 05:07 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Running rich, stalling...

now cranks but won't start. Gives code for crank speed sensor, no signal, I tested resistance, ok, tested signal at sensor, ok. Tested wiring for open/short/cross short, ok. Checked signal at ecm, ok. Audi repair manual said if everything checks out to replace ecm.
Old 04-22-2006, 05:21 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Don't forget to check the cam position sensor. No start/stall is one symptom of a bad one.

I know that's not the code you logged, but ECU's very rarely go bad, unless the heater core has a coolant meltdown on top. Sure, it can happen, but I'd run through every trick in the book before trying to find an ECU. You're talking a *minimum* of $500 if someone is feeling really nice that day....*if* you can find one. New, you're looking at a cool grand.

They sure are fun rides once up and running though. Good luck.
Old 04-22-2006, 05:26 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Agree. ECUs rarely die. They do die. But not often.
Old 04-22-2006, 05:35 PM
AudiWorld Super User