S4 (B6 & B7 Platforms) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi S4 produced from 2003-2005 And B7 Audi S4 produced from 2005 -2008

Need Help!!! Please advise!!! I am going to the track this Thursday.....

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2005, 02:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help!!! Please advise!!! I am going to the track this Thursday.....

and am def racing 2 srt4's. 1 that is mopar stage 1,WGA,CAI, 3 inch exhaust, electronic boost controller running 20lbs. and 2nd is stage 2 with a 50 trim big turbo. Any chance that I am gonna win???

In addition....I can't seem to get my launch down. What do you guys recommend???? Any advice for the track. This is my first time taking this car to the track.
Old 07-12-2005, 02:44 PM
AudiWorld Expert

Default Honestly, you can either launch well or you can't. You have to have the feel for it.

BUT, I can recommend doing a very fast slip and not dumping!

Feather the throttle while preparing...and let your body control it. I can't explain it...but I just think "hard launch," do a simultaneous floor and clutch release (not sidestep, fast uplift), and then I'm off.

Good luck.

Turn off ESP ;-)
Old 07-12-2005, 03:11 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default HOW many times do we have to say this.

It's AWD, you don't F-in launch it.

Roll it to about 5 mph and then add power.

it's not some hovercraft that you stand on and hope that 4200 illustrious pounds of v8 powaH going to move without frying your clutch.

the AWD works at speed, not as a "drop it like it's hot" type launch.... if you do (which is your choice) you'll surely fry the clutch in no time.

oh and by the way, the car you are racing could be faster, but it's the driver that makes ALL the difference.
Old 07-12-2005, 03:17 PM
AudiWorld Expert

Default You don't vs. "you shouldn't".. ;-) Not neccessarily the clutch, but the whole drivetrain

depending on how hard/how unskilled of a launch ;-)