S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

been playing around with the car, adding timing. Whats a safe level for correction factor?

Old 09-02-2006, 10:57 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Calling it a "Map" is a misnomer...

I'm no expert but I've learned quite a bit at ASP as well as through my own explorations.

There are quite a few factors which go into timing correction. There are a number look-up tables used to determine the requested values. There are also triggers which affect timing in the long-term(CF) Medium term (IAT) and short term (KV). When the ECU detects spurious (not predicted) knock, it applies a set amount of correction over a specified time... say, it pulls 5deg and waits 2/10ths of a second and listens again, if there is still knock it pulls again, usually an amount much higher than the first... 12deg. And it can do so again in another .2sec... I've seen negative timing (retard) during my homebrew times. Anyhow, once the knock has quelled it waits and ups timing at a rate of about half the amount it took away per step. This process is totally separate from CF and serves as another safeguard.
Old 09-02-2006, 11:04 PM
AudiWorld Super User

sold the 7?
Old 09-02-2006, 11:06 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Yep...

Too many projects... work and car-wise. I'm feeding two S4's for the time being, lol.

I'll get another when I get a larger house (and larger garage) in a couple years, no biggie.
Old 09-02-2006, 11:09 PM

Default So you're saying this is independent of long term correction factors...interesting, thank you.

It somewhat reminds me of how Nye explained that LTFT and STFTs work together. If STFTs hit the limit in a certain direction, LTFT will bump up in the same direction. The process continues until STFTs are within the +/-25% limit. At least this is how I remember him explaining it...
Old 09-02-2006, 11:17 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Indeed...