S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

2001 S4, CEL/Catalytic Issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2012, 04:22 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 S4, CEL/Catalytic Issues

Hey everyone, newbie here, Boston area. Have a nice 2001 S4 in pretty good shape, except that my CEL has been on since last summer (2011). Went to autozone for a quick diag, scanner says error codes P0421/P0431, short for "cats don't work well". So I resigned myself to cat replacement, an expensive proposition, it seems

Alas, the other day, I filled up at a Mobile gas station at the other end of town where I never go, and - surprise - minutes after that the CEL went off, and is still off days after. Umm, really!? I always buy brand name quality 93 gas, so is this just a teaser, or a coincidence? Can gas quality or possibly ethanol confuse my cats and keep the CEL on??

Confused here ... please help ...

YV
Old 03-21-2012, 07:03 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The those codes mean the efficiency of the precats are not as good as they should be. Possibly replacing the O2 sensors may resolve this issue, IF they are falsely reading the exact O2 levels in the exhaust. My Allroad was throwing the same codes, but now, only Bank 1 has the code now, but there is also a Bank 1 O2 sensor fault too. The recorded MVBs for my cats show Bank 2 is within specs, but Bank 1 is still out.
Old 03-28-2012, 02:31 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Thanks! Is there any way to tell whether the o2 sensors are faulty, or the cats are broken? At $100/each (x4 + labor) it's not a quick-and-cheap experiment ...

YV
Old 03-28-2012, 05:23 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Originally Posted by yakavish
Thanks! Is there any way to tell whether the o2 sensors are faulty, or the cats are broken? At $100/each (x4 + labor) it's not a quick-and-cheap experiment ...

YV