S4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi S4 produced from 2009-2016

Late to the Party

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2010, 04:37 PM
GWN
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Late to the Party

Found out about this site too late....Here is the problem, I need current S4 owners advice:

I ordered an S4 (CAN) tiptronic but without the SD. After reading reviews, and opinions here, I think I should cancel the order (it is due to arrive next week!)

I am new to the brand and "slightly" po'd that my SA didn't tell me about this.....but I have to accept the blame ultimately....

For daily commutes to the office with hwy driving, is this as big a deal as I think it is or is this care still "safe"

Thanks in advance....
Old 04-11-2010, 04:56 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 36 Likes on 18 Posts

Originally Posted by GWN
Found out about this site too late....Here is the problem, I need current S4 owners advice:

I ordered an S4 (CAN) tiptronic but without the SD. After reading reviews, and opinions here, I think I should cancel the order (it is due to arrive next week!)

I am new to the brand and "slightly" po'd that my SA didn't tell me about this.....but I have to accept the blame ultimately....

For daily commutes to the office with hwy driving, is this as big a deal as I think it is or is this care still "safe"

Thanks in advance....
The car is Safe but the SD really adds to the car. The SD has features that change the feel of the steering, the shift points and gives you crazy cornering ability. In short it really adds fun to the car.
Old 04-11-2010, 04:59 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by GWN

Thanks in advance....
Assuming you're referring to the sport differential ("SD"), I think you'll be more than "safe" without it unless you plan on doing a lot of high-speed cornering, in which case you'll probably still be safe but the car will exhibit understeer.
Old 04-11-2010, 05:08 PM