S4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi S4 produced from 2009-2016

Extended warranty

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2013, 10:14 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Extended warranty

My factory 4-year warranty expires next May & I'm just beginning to evaluate. I'm expecting to retain the car for another 1-2 years past warranty expiration.

What are the experience and thinking of those who have purchased extended warranties? With Audi's signficantly improved reliability (check latest Consumer Reports ratings w/Audi @ #4), might it be worth it to forgo the additional warranty? Does the factory extension cover enough items? Local Audi Dealer was not much help on this.

2010 Blue Pearl Effect S4 w/29K fun-filled miles.
Old 10-28-2013, 10:44 AM
AudiWorld Member

I am pretty much wondering the same thing. I have less than a year of warranty left on my S4. The car has been nearly perfect so far and I have low miles (just under 20K). I plan to keep the car about 1-2 years past the warranty expiration. What to do...
Old 10-28-2013, 02:00 PM
Banned

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I would never want to own ANY Germen car without it being under warranty. If and when you have a problem, and you most likely will, it can cost big bucks to repair them. These cars do not have the long tern reliability that you find with Japanese cars. I recommend buying an extended warranty
Old 10-28-2013, 02:41 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 142 Likes on 98 Posts

Originally Posted by pfcoach
Does the factory extension cover enough items?
Last I checked, there was no actual *factory* warranty extension. There is a third party warranty offered by Audi dealers which is backed by Fidelity Warranty Services. Do a search for "Audi Pure Protection" for some info. You can also buy this warranty directly from Fidelity.
Old 10-29-2013, 02:28 AM
AudiWorld Member