S4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi S4 produced from 2009-2016

Brake upgrade recommendations please..

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2011, 04:52 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake upgrade recommendations please..

We've all seen the threads about how bad our brakes squeal (so this isn't meant to be yet another one of those! ). I'm not interested in going to the dealer, or bedding my brakes. I'm purely interested in looking to upgrade my brakes and would like to know, from those that have upgraded, what did you go with, and do your new brakes squeal?

I've been looking at Brembo, Performance Friction and StopTech but not being a mechanic, I'm not sure which is the best ones to go with. My main requirements are:
  1. Quiet
  2. Performs as well, (or better than OEM) on the track
  3. Low brake dust would be a 'nice to have'

I know I'm asking for a lot, but I'd be interested to know if others have found something that works. I'm interested in replacing everything (rotors, calipers and pads) if it'll solve the problem.

A mechanic recently told me that I can't fix the squeal because it's how Audi has designed the brakes.. so wouldn't replacing the rotors, calipers and pads solve it?

Thanks,
Dustin
Old 12-28-2011, 05:08 PM
Former Vendor

Are you looking for a complete Big Brake Kit replacement or strictly a rotor/pad combo?

Squealing is usually attributed to hard/track compound pads.
Old 12-28-2011, 05:20 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I wouldn't listen much to your mechanic. The brakes don't squeal because of how Audi designed them. The brakes squeal because of the brake pad compound. Squeaking brakes are very common with high performance brake pads. If you just want to get rid of the squeal all you have to do is change the pads.

The three requirements you listed typically don't go together unless you're willing and able to put down big bucks. What's your budget?
Old 12-28-2011, 05:24 PM