RS 6 Discussion (C5) Discussion forum for the Audi RS 6 C5 platform

Yet Another Nav Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2005, 07:03 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yet Another Nav Question

Been following the extended saga of the NAV+ and now the RNS-E units for us US RS6 owners. While I've chosen to pass on the NAV+ unit and wait for the RNS-E, I recall reading something recently (last month or so) maybe here or on RS6.com about the '05 Allroad RNS-E working in the RS6. As I understood it, it fits (double DIN) and fully-integrates with the CAN system in the RS6. I've also been following the discussions on nav-plus.com and the yahoo Audi Nav group. Admittedly, going the Audi factory part way is the most expensive option (if it's truly available), but the reality is that I'm not a techie, don't want to mess with the electrical systems and would just prefer a turnkey solution from a dealer. I've asked my local dealer to look into it, but just throwing this out to the forum to see if we have a 100% guaranteed solution, yet. Thanks for everybody's thoughts and knowledge on this. CW
Old 03-07-2005, 09:32 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default The US spec Allroad RNS-E Nav + lists for about $3200.

Yes, the US version is available. I checked on this from the local dealer last week. Installing it would be fairly simple, especially if you bought one of the wiring adapters from kufatec.de. You will not find a "plug and play" solution from the dealer, as the wiring is different between the Symphony II and the DVD Nav +, hence the reason to get the adapter from kufatec.

Going full list, you would have it in for ~$3700 with the adapter, antenna and DVD. If you buy one from a dealer like Clair, you would no doubt drop a few hundred off of that price.