Q7 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 MKII built from 2016 -

Q7 MK2 - towing - Weight distributing hitch

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2022, 10:54 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Q7 MK2 - towing - Weight distributing hitch

Hi AUDI forum

First time AUDI owner here and just bought a used 2017 Q7 3.0T Technik. Super excited and appreciated all the info to be found here!

I will be using it for towing an RV and was advised by the RV shop that I should purchase a weight distribution hitch with build in sway bars. Which all sounded logic.

Now I’m reading the car manual, and it says not to used a weight distributing / load equalizing hitch.

I was curious if people would share what their real life experience has been with either or?

Note - the car has the air suspension and factory installed towing package.

I’m new to this. So any information / advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Old 05-11-2022, 11:02 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts

No WD hitch. Its a no no.

Search in the forum, there are a couple big threads on Towing with the Q7. They also talk about no WD hitch.

And its a big plus that you have the air suspension. I use an electronic sway controller on my RV.

g/l
The following users liked this post:
Fast_Eddie (06-01-2022)
Old 05-11-2022, 11:15 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Thank you for the reply. I’ll search for them
would you mind sharing what electrical sway control you use? If you are happy with how it works.
Old 05-11-2022, 11:24 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts

Originally Posted by CFOG
Thank you for the reply. I’ll search for them
would you mind sharing what electrical sway control you use? If you are happy with how it works.
I use the Hayes Sway Controller. It works and I've had it go off and apply the trailer brakes when I take a turn too fast so I know it works.