Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

New (to me) Q7

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2014, 10:29 PM
ERS
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New (to me) Q7

Hi all, I just Picked up a 2007 Q7 Premium 3.6 and have some questions. Im new to Audi but Ive had VW's my whole driving career thus far, so Audi was a natural progression for me when it came time for a family SUV. Im loving it so far!

First, Id like to integrate my IPhone to the MMI. From the research Ive done so far, an AMI retrofit (10/06 build date), or Dension Gateway500 seem to be the only options. What are the pros and cons of each and which is more affordable?

I have some kind of dock or station in the armrest, can someone tell me what this is? Is it AMI that is already fitted to my Q7 and I just need the missing pieces?

Name:  E7307F31-AE35-4E22-B393-A97084379348_zpsrt2jy7vs.jpg
Views: 1931
Size:  67.3 KB

Secondly, regarding MMI and nav updates. I understand I need to update the MMI firmware, Im on ver. 4xxx, in order to use the nav map dvd update. Is this correct? Is there anything else needed? What is the best source for these updates?

Sorry for all the questions, hopefully I get pointed in the right direction and I can put a stop to the confusion. Ive already learned a ton from this site, but feel I much need to further my education. Thank you!
Old 05-19-2014, 04:31 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I think the dock in the armrest is just a base for a phone adaptor. I doubt you can get hold of one for any of the later iPhones so it probably not worth doing anything with.
If you go for the AMI it comes with Bluetooth so you get music from USB - memory stick or SSD drive etc... as well as phone functionality - no music from the phone via BT though.