Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

wipers up or not for ice storm?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2011, 04:28 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wipers up or not for ice storm?

Hey folks,

A potential (ice) storm is headed my way and I'm curious to fellow Q owners thoughts to putting the wipers in service mode and lifting them off the windshield?

I found a post about folding errr more to not folding up the side mirrors for fear of burning out the motor/fuse.
I've NEVER done this on any car before and not even in the 2 years i've owned/driven my Q so far but, I see other drivers doing it more & more often - am I missing something?
BTW at 5'4" it's quite a stretch for me to reach the wipers to stand them up off the windshield ... but if it's a true method/action then i'd be willing to do it -- thoughts?
---
Is there ANY possibility that when you start the Q up the wipers will move causing any damage to them or the hood?
** Guess this would also be a self-reminder to make sure the auto sensor is OFF ...
Old 12-21-2011, 04:34 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

the few times (in other cars) I've parked outside and had those conditions, I just made sure they were off and hand scrapped or used the remote start to pre-warm and melt it off...

tried the 'fix' of putting cardboard under the blades to not let them freeze to the windshield and that was more of a mess since there was some liquid precip too and the melt ran behind the cardboard and IT froze to the windshield !

good luck and one of the main reason I like Texus we only get that rarely down here...
Old 12-21-2011, 04:47 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts