Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017
Old 08-01-2016, 03:16 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:Browse all: Audi Q5 or Q7 Exterior Guides
Print Wikipost

Towing With My Q5

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2014, 08:30 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Towing With My Q5

Hey guys,

I'm a bit new to towing and this Saturday I plan on towing a trailer 180 miles one way to a race track for a motorcycle track day. I am renting a uhual 6x12 dual axle trailer like this one http://www.uhaul.com/Reservations/Eq....aspx?model=HO.

I will be towing three bikes with it, two in the front and one in the middle rear. the bikes are all supersport class bikes so they each weigh roughly 450lbs wet. The trailer weighs 2,200lbs and the three bikes will be 1,500lbs. I know our Q5's are rated to tow 4,200lbs and I'm guesing our max tongue weight is 10% of the tow weight? So max tongue weight needs to be 400lbs? If I load the trailer that way, will I have enough tongue weight? I don't want to overload the tongue nor do I want trailer sway. I shouldn't be carrying any passengers either.

The trailer also is hydraulic braked equipped. Is that just plug and play since we don't have a brake controller?

I will be using my TDI to tow, what kind of mileage should I expect. I'm hoping for somewhere in the mid 20's?

I see this picture from another forum poster and feel relieved though but still. Don't want to damage anything.
Attached Images  
Old 05-28-2014, 08:48 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 209 Likes on 172 Posts

Those trailers are pretty good about not swaying with normal driving.
The trailer brakes are usually pretty good but not instantaneously.
If your hitch is too high it may rattle on the ball over bumps, won't hurt anything but pretty dam annoying.
Mid 20's would be good, those trailers are bricks.