Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Audi Noob, looking at Q5

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2013, 12:53 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audi Noob, looking at Q5

Hi all this is my first post in this or any other Audi forum. I'm looking to purchase a new Q5 in the next few months. I currently own a BMW 335 I coupe, but since the family is about to grow, I need a bigger sized car. My wife and I are debating between the new A6 versus the new Q5. As my title says, I am new to the Audi world. I have owned BMWs since the last 10 years, so I'm familiar with the BMW platform and and model numbers. However, I'm starting to get familiar with the Audi model numbers and model dates. I have three questions which I'm hoping to get help from on this forum.

1. Is there a sticky for newbies like me to get information about the Q5 model year, when is it going to be replaced by a new model, standard options, must have features etc. Bimmerpost had some nice stickies to get new members on boarded.

2. Is there a sticky around Audi leasing ? I want to lease the Q5, but wanted to be aware of negotiation attributes such as money factors, residual, invoice etc.

3. Last question, any personal thoughts on performance, handling, driving pleasure for the new Q5 versus the A6?

Thank you
Old 11-28-2013, 01:08 PM
Club AutoUnion

Received 49 Likes on 39 Posts

Hi and welcome aboard.

1. You'll find plenty of discussion about the next Q5 on this board; I suggest you run a search. In summary, Audi is building a brand new plant for the next Q5 in Mexico; we'll likely see the new model sometime in early- to mid-2016.

2. Ditto leasing discussions abound - try a search.