Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Question about rubbing noise

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2014, 09:52 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about rubbing noise

Hello everyone, i'm a newbie here in this forum but i got question to ask Q5 owner... first say thank you to everyone who would give me any advice.
I bought a brand-new 2014 Q5 2.0T in May at Park avenue Audi Montreal. Now it has been driven about 4000km, so far so good. However i've heard about three times in two months some kind of rubbing noise came from the rear tire, driver side. It's kind of weird the first time and second time it goes off after 5 minutes of driving. The third time happened which was tonight and it did not go off that quick. I could still hear it's something rubbing against the disc and the brake, i would say mostly metal rubbing. It's not loud but keeps making friction noise.
Does anyone have this kind of issue ?
Appreciated for any kind of advice.
Old 07-11-2014, 01:16 AM
AudiWorld Expert

Received 41 Likes on 33 Posts

Could be a caliper sticking. Take it to the dealer
Old 07-11-2014, 03:12 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

theres numerous things. if your guess was on the brakes. it might be the wheel bearings. if the brakes are constantly rubbing the rotors check if they are burning hot. IF it is better head over to the dealers asap
Old 07-11-2014, 04:56 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

thank you AudiQ5 sleeper, i'm actually going to the dealer today... i mean for 4000km, i'm not a tough guy on the breaks...so it should be in good shape, isn't ? i still have A concept that the original pads could go as far as 20,000km.
thank you again.
Old 07-11-2014, 04:57 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default thank you !

Originally Posted by Reggie
Could be a caliper sticking. Take it to the dealer