Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

My review 2014 Q5 TDI vs 2013 BMW X3 35i

Old 12-28-2013, 07:14 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 14 Likes on 6 Posts
Default My review 2014 Q5 TDI vs 2013 BMW X3 35i

As my signature would show, I have been a dedicated BMW owner. Love the vehicles and still do. This is our first Audi and so far we're loving every minute of ownership.

Thought I'd give a first impressions review of the vehicles noting the differences and my layman's take on the vehicles. I'm no technical expert. I just love fine craftsmanship & engineering. Both manufacturer's provide this. As most things are subjective you would be well advised to drive both vehicles yourself to determine your likes and dislikes. I'm not interested in 0-60 times or HP / torque comparisons. We just are not those kinds of drivers (don't worry, we'll get out of your way). Our driving focuses on refinement, luxury, quality, comfort and convenience.

With that said it's important to note that no production vehicle is perfect. There will always be some things you wish were different.

Styling (Exterior)
Probably the most subjective item in any owner's selection process. Both vehicles have their own unique styling. The notable difference we encountered is the Q5 felt smaller or more compact while not giving up space. I did not refer to any dimensions but for my wife (primary driver) the Q5 feels more compact and easier to drive. For me, the cleaner of the vehicle, I notice it is shorter in height.

Styling (Interior)