AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a4-b5-platform-discussion-1/)
-   -   Power door locks don't work (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a4-b5-platform-discussion-1/power-door-locks-dont-work-2807435/)

Delvekio 06-11-2011 09:11 AM

Power door locks don't work

Hi everybody,
I just bought a '99 A4 2.8 Quattro. I'm new to Audi so I've got a lot of questions. I've only got one key, no remotes and the power door locks don't work. I can manually lock the passenger doors from the inside and lock the driver door with the key from the outside. I've scoured the forums and gotten all kinds of good information, but I guess I lack info like is this car equipped with a stock alarm and am I supposed to have a remote? I've read a great deal about the central locking pump but before I go for that could it just be a fuse or electrical issue in the door? The gas door remains unlocked as well.
Another stupid question: I've read in the manual about neat tricks you can do with the key like convenient roll down/up of the windows but this stuff is confusing when it doesn't work.

Any help is appreciated and thanks for taking the time to respond to something you've probably heard ten thousand times before.

Thank you!

4Driver4 06-11-2011 09:33 AM

If you are in the US, the car has a factory alarm and you should have a remote that is part of a switchblade key.

Delvekio 06-11-2011 10:01 AM

I am in the U.S. but no remote or switchblade key. Do I have to go the dealer or is there a cheaper solution?

mtroxel 06-12-2011 08:34 AM

Don't spend $$ on a remote till you get the power locks working. If you lock the driver's side door, everything else (including the gas door) should lock. In normal operation, you can hear the pump in the trunk behind the RR wheel. If you lock the driver's door and don't hear the pump, there's no point in buying a remote. You need to sort through that problem first.