Audi e-tron / Q8 e-tron Discussion forums for the electric Audi e-tron SUV.

Loss of battery range (really, not GOM issue)

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2021, 05:35 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Loss of battery range (really, not GOM issue)

I have a 2019 Prestige with about 7k miles. I have been driving EVs since 2014 (2014 and 2017 i3s (sold), currently a model 3 and a Leaf still in the family, we're an all-EV family since 2017), and I understand how the GOM and range estimation works.

My range has been pretty consistent, and as you can see based on my mileage, I don't drive a lot these days, usually a couple times a week for a few miles but that's about it, with the occasional longer trip. I charge to 80% and I usually plug in when I get below 25%. (Good battery maintenance practices all around.)

Last weekend when I charged up, my GOM only got to 90 miles at 80%. I don't pay that much attention usually when I charge if I'm going to be around town, but 90 seemed really low. So I busted out the app and my spreadsheets and looked at my history, efficiency, etc. and there's no way that's just driving efficiency (I'm at 43.5kWh/100mi over long term, and it doesn't vary much over the last two weeks--efficiency would have to be very bad to support that kind of range estimate in any case). My long term average translates to 218 miles of capacity based on a 95kW battery. Even if we're only accessing 88% of the full 95kW, I'm still well short of that, so clearly something's off.

I just charged it up again, and it tells me only 85 miles at 80%. So I'm thinking I lost a battery pack. I made an appointment with the dealer (it'll be a couple of weeks before I can get in and get a loaner). We'll see how it goes, battery is under warranty, so I'm expecting them to replace it.

I've been happy with the car so far, hope that they get this sorted out.
The following users liked this post:
thebishman (08-14-2021)
Old 08-13-2021, 06:16 AM