Audi allroad Discussion forum for the original Audi allroad

EGT Sensor Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2011, 01:44 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EGT Sensor Replacement

Hey Every One,

Just had my 03 2.7 flashed by EPL, found car is in limp mode due to bad EGT sensor (Vag Code 17866 - Exhaust Gas Temp Sensor 2 (G236) short to ground - P1458 - 35 - 10 Intermittent)

So I ordered the ECS EGT kit - replacement seems simple enough...Driver side looks tough to access...anyone done one and have any Tips and suggestions ?

Not sure how long I've been in limp mode ...sheeesh...cant wait to feel the diff !
Old 05-18-2011, 08:16 AM
AudiWorld Member

replacing the Driversside EGTS is a friggin' pain in the donkey ***. I've been working on cars for 15+ years and it was one of the more frustrating jobs I've done. I'd rather do a complete timing job than the drivers EGTS.

That said, most guys cut a 17MM open ended wrench in half and put a notch in the cut end of the wrench. Then go from below, first try and reach up and loosen the EGTS probe nut with just the wrench. If that doesn't work some will run a string up and through the notch on the wrench and then pull on the string while below the car.

I tried all those things and none worked. The simpliest way (IMHO) is:

1.) Remove Secondary Air Injection Pump to allow TOPSIDE hand access to probe.
2.) CUT braided wire close to probe.
3.) Grab end of probe sticking out of exhaust (~3-4") and bend it back and forth about 30 times. It will snap off flush to the nut that holds it to the exhaust manifold.
4.) Once that is done you can just slip a 3/8" 17MM short socket over the nut and loosen it with a simple 3/8" ratchet. You may want to use a extension/swivel.
5.) Don't forget to pull the remaining piece of probe out of the exhaust once the retaining nut is off.