Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B8) Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet Model years 2009 - 2017

Any IPhone users out there?? Bluetooth Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2010, 05:46 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any IPhone users out there?? Bluetooth Question

I've had my car for a couple weeks now and have noticed that when I answer an incoming phone call via bluetooth while I'm using my IPhone to play music with the audi music interface I can never actually make the connection. The display shows that I am connected but I don't hear anyone on the other end. I always have to end the call and call them back and it works fine.
I'm new to bluetooth and tend to answer calls immediately so maybe I just need to let it ring a couple times?
Anyone have this experience?
I believe I don't have any trouble when the Iphone isn't plugged into the AMI.
Appreciate any help, thanks!
Old 04-07-2010, 05:56 PM
AudiWorld Member

Hmmm, yeah - I have an ipod in the glove box and the iphone stays in my pocket - works flawlessly. I've never tried using the iphone to play music, but I think waiting might help. The MMI shuts down the music and switches over to phone mode. So it really shouldn't matter that you have the iphone connected to the MMI - bluetooth for voice and cable for music are two separate things. Unless the iphone is trying to push voice audio out of the wired connection? Do you get the popup on the iphone that asks which output to use? Mine usually has three options, Audi MMI, iPhone, and Headset. You will only see this screen when a call is active...
Old 04-07-2010, 06:01 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by elf_cruiser