Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B8) Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet Model years 2009 - 2017

A5 Automatic transmission problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 01:34 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A5 Automatic transmission problem

Hi,

I'm new to the Audi Forums and unfortunately my first post is related to a problem I have with my almost new Audi. The car is a 2011 A5 w/ premium plus package.

My problem is with the automatic transmission. When the car was around 500 miles the transmission started to be very “jumpy” while switching gears and this was mostly at low speeds (between 15 and 40 mph)

I took the car to Audi's service center and was told that the scanner didn't show any type of problems; in fact they told me they run the scanner twice.

In addition, I was advised by a friend to let the engine adapt to my driving style and that the problem may probably go away.

Today my A5 has around 2,500 miles and the problem not only continues but now I have a new issue: when I start the engine for the first time in the mornings I now hear a sporadic noise for a few seconds when I start driving.

Again the car has not shown any error messages and Audi Service keeps telling me that the car is fine.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Leon
Old 08-15-2011, 01:40 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 382 Likes on 344 Posts

Leon, welcome aboard!

Would it be accurate to describe the transmission issue as harsh downshifts?
Old 08-16-2011, 03:05 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 84 Posts

There was a TCM firmware update in January of this year for the 2011 tiptronic specifically to address "harsh shifts" (up and down). Have the dealer check that the installed is the most current.
Old 08-16-2011, 04:09 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member