I guess I'll ask again... see if you guys can help - cooling problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2006, 12:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I guess I'll ask again... see if you guys can help - cooling problems

Hey,
I just spent a ridiculus amount of money on a stupid multi-function temp sensor and that didn't solve my problem. here it is:

my temp gauge never goes over 2-3 marks and the car runs really rich. I know that when the car's temperature registers low, the computer makes the fuel mixture richer to heat up the engine. so, I though i have a faulty MFTS. Nope! I did a little reading and found that if someone at one time put in an 80 degree thermostat instead of an 87 degree one, that makes the coolant go into the radiator more often cooling it down more often. This sounds like a good idea, but here in ohio it doesn't get hot enough for that nonsense. So, I bought a new 87 degree thermostat and I need to put it in. Here's the problem: I've never done this before.

I figure what I'll do is take the thermostat out, and put the housing back together with no thermostat installed. Then I'll use my home flush kit to flush out the cooling system. With no thermostat in place, it cannot close which will allow me to completely flush the entire system. Thermostats don't seem too difficult to change, however I have no idea where it's at! Can someone give me a very detailed description of where it's at, or better yet a picture?

Also, when using the home flush kit (I think Prestone makes it) which hose would be best to splice in the TEE fitting? Once again, pics would be nice.

Once more thing. Now that I have the MFTS changed, I am told that there is another sensor that tells the ECU the temperature. Where can I buy that one cheap?
Old 06-07-2006, 12:32 PM
AudiWorld Super User

well lets just say that you will be doing a timing belt job to remove the thermo
Old 06-07-2006, 12:50 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default My experience.