My coupe had an incident

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2009, 07:03 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My coupe had an incident

My 86 Coupe GT coupe had an incident at the hands of my son! Now I have to decide whether to have it fixed it or part it out or pass it on the the crusher. Just taking it to a shop will cost a lot more than it is worth - but I really like the car, and it is my track car (the TT Roadster isn't allowed on the track). I have no experience with any body work, so I am at least going to look for a small shop or garage mechanic to start with; my next choice is to offer it up for sale here. It is definitely repairable and restorable, although it is starting to show rust in all the usual places. Any advice from anyone here. (I live in Minneapolis by the way.) -John B

, , , ,
Old 08-13-2009, 07:48 AM
AudiWorld Member

It doesn't look as though it will be hard to fix the car. I would definitely not get rid of her.

It looks like you need the stainless bright work, both lights, a left marker light, and a gentle pull on the rad support. The hood is salvagable, even the driver's fender looks as though it can be fixed, the bumper skin is repairable, you may need a grill and the trim around the lights. But the car doesn't appear to have any major damage, it looks as though the hit was high enough that it will all be glass, plastic and sheetmetal, and not a lot more.

The reflector blanks have gone MIA, as did the lower valences in the bumper skin. Just a matter of locating the parts. Some of which I may be able to help with.

Best of luck, and I hope you keep the car.

Cheers,

Ted
86 Coupe GT
90 V8 quattro
98 Volvo C70 Coupe HPT
Old 08-13-2009, 12:41 PM
Audiworld Junior Member