1990 Audi 100 electric windows/sunroof don't work

Old 11-27-2002, 12:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1990 Audi 100 electric windows/sunroof don't work

Sorry if this is a repeat. I'm new to this. Replaced relay under kick panel & vacuum pump by battery with junkyard parts. Windows and sunroof still don't work. Is there a circuit breaker that I'm not aware of? Gas gauge does't work yet tank is full. Key does not lock and unlock on drivers side. Manual locking from inside the car works fine (locks and opens all 4 doors). Am I dealing with frayed wires regarding the windows and sunroof? Help.
Old 11-27-2002, 01:14 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Which relay did you replace??....

There's a large relay (takes up two slots) under the kick panel. That relay controls the sunroof and the windows. Is that the one you replaced??

The door lock is probably broken or the linkage just fell off. Either way you'll have to pull the door panel to determine which problem you have.

Hopefully others can help you with the fuel gauge!!
Old 11-28-2002, 06:09 AM

Default Re: Which relay did you replace??....

Thanks. That's the one. It takes up two slots. My luck is that the "replacement" relay from the junkyard wasn't any good. Have you heard anything about a window/sunroof circuit breaker? Someone mentioned that to me some time ago.
Old 11-28-2002, 08:47 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default That relay IS the circuit breaker. Another....

...somewhat remote possibilty is that the door contact switch is busted. Check them on all of your doors and see if any are broken off. The little rubber cover just pulls off. You may get lucky!!
Old 11-29-2002, 10:07 AM

Default Re: Another window/sun roof problem post