View Full Version : Audi A4 transmission swap


AUDI B5 PLATFORM
11-14-2005, 09:58 PM
i needed some help on transmission swap, will i just need the following

1. manual transmission
2. pedal assembly
3.clutch cable
4. manual transmission radiator
5. clutch and flywheel

please let me know if that is all i need,cause i got all of the 5 items above in my shed from a donar car from a 97 Audi A4 with 50,000 miles , my car is a 1997 Audi A4 Automatic , but i want to convert it to 5-speed once the automatic goes bad ,

i had just got done changing the whole interior to a S4 interior, with complete center console S4 dash with light up dash vents and the 2 red LED's that shine down at night, and all door panels with alarm LED on doors and Full interior wire harness from a 2000 Audi A4 with CAN-BUS converted over , so now i have the can-gateway box in the car, so car looks like S4 on the inside, i used TachoPro and Vag-Com to re Program the Audi S4 Cluster to work with the 1.8t 4cyl RPM's , at first i was driving and the Cluster was for a V6 so the RPM's where off , so i re-programed the Tach to work on the 1.8t 4cly RPM range , this is the biggest conversion of a inside of the car i ever did ! lots of wires ! FUN ! thanks

Im@wesome~ out!
11-14-2005, 10:00 PM

Yippers®
11-15-2005, 05:30 AM
with the manual, clutch interlock, etc. Clutch master (and slave) will need to be mounted with the pedal box. I am not sure if the brake system is different but I'd look for differences there too ...
If you still have the donor car you should have most, if not all, of what you'd need.

halik
11-15-2005, 05:51 AM
You will need to wire in the back up light connector. Theres also the rpm sensor, which might or might not be on the auto tranny.

You also forgot the shifter linkage, with the shift box that goes into the middle console and the actual shifter. Also the clutch is hydraulic, theres no cables.

Yippers®
11-15-2005, 06:05 AM
I did suggest he'd have to mount the clutch master/slave circuit.
He didn't say what MY he was swapping into. He might get away without any safety interlocks but since I don't know the wiring set up for TIPS .. or if all TIPS have brake pedal safety interlocks ... I mentioned it as a possibility.

Allroady DungBeetle
11-15-2005, 06:06 AM
Or tear down the motor and swap out the crank.

So, be prepared for a lot more work unless you planned to swap out the motor already.

Allroady DungBeetle
11-15-2005, 06:07 AM

JAFO
11-15-2005, 08:16 AM
it's hydralic. you'll need master and slave cylinders. also they share the reservior with the brakes so you may need to replace that too.

JAFO
11-15-2005, 08:19 AM
<center><img src="http://pictureposter.audiworld.com/39415/crank_end.jpg"></center><p>i think this is an auto. the only difference i can find is the manual has a pinion bearing.

Allroady DungBeetle
11-15-2005, 02:58 PM
it will not work and the manual crank is different.

Someone here has done it as well, maybe a couple people but i know it's been done and they had to swap it out.

Yippers®
11-15-2005, 03:23 PM

JAFO
11-15-2005, 04:44 PM
they make no mention of this ifaik. also eurospec who sell cranks makes no mention of this.

Allroady DungBeetle
11-15-2005, 04:46 PM
unless i swapped out the crank too. Oh well, I have been wrong before and may well be again.

TheObiJuan
11-28-2005, 03:27 PM
Not to thread jack, but anyone know what's needed for a 2000 Audi A4 auto to make it manual.
I am getting my auto pulled because it needs work, so a 600 dollar stall, 800 dollar valve body, 250 dollar tip chip make the manual transmission option potentially feasible.