View Full Version : I believe in the saying, "If it's too good to be true..."


ArandA4
02-13-2008, 08:17 PM
While I believe that Canon Rebel XTi prices will drop in anticipation of the release of the XSi, I haven't seen anything lower than about 499 for body only. Adding the basic package 18-55 EF-S lens will up the price to about 600.

But wow, look at this link below. They are offering the body only for 299. Claiming it's brand new, in the box. Also, I can upgrade to the 17-85 Image Stabilized and Ultrasonic Driven lens along with some freebies like a 2GB memory card for only 659!!

Too good to be true? Anybody hear of this retailer? Anybody think this might be gray or black market products?<ul><li><a href="http://soniccameras.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=4643">Sonic Cameras? Anybody heard of them?</a></li></ul>

TristanP
02-13-2008, 08:32 PM

ArandA4
02-13-2008, 08:35 PM

TGK
02-13-2008, 09:22 PM
"If you haven't purchased with Sonic Cameras.com, give us a try. We'd be proud to add you to our growing list of satisfied customers."

:)

nothing
02-13-2008, 10:28 PM
There is no address listed anywhere on the web site, but it does say they charge sales tax for New York customers. NEVER order from an e-retailer based in Brooklyn.

You wouldn't ever get what you order from them, unless you buy the expensive add-ons they will try to sell you later. The "body only" deals are a dead giveaway. They even have the Nikon D40 as a body only - which is not offered without a kit lens in the US.

Togglehead
02-13-2008, 11:42 PM
"Who Is started...

No match for "WWW.SONICCAMERAS.COM".
&gt;&gt;&gt; Last update of whois database: Thu, 14 Feb 2008 07:39:33 UTC &lt;&lt;&lt;"

No domain registration info? Scary...

LI-S4
02-14-2008, 05:44 AM
<ul><li><a href="http://forums.audiworld.com/photo/msgs/32074.phtml">http://forums.audiworld.com/photo/msgs/32074.phtml</a</li></ul>

TristanP
02-14-2008, 06:40 AM

ArandA4
02-14-2008, 07:35 AM

A6AvantErik: MCS
02-14-2008, 08:48 AM

pinkertonfloyd
02-14-2008, 08:14 PM
B&amp;H (The King, never, ever had an issue with B&amp;H)
Beach Camera/BuyDig (Same Company)
Adorama

Be wary of anyone else.

TristanP
02-15-2008, 07:45 AM

Togglehead
02-15-2008, 11:32 AM