View Full Version : 84 ur-quattro on ebay = SCAM


turbo329
10-14-2005, 09:50 AM
To "Jill Trapizona", "scoogins" or whatever...THIS IS A SCAM. Hope you enjoyed your little fun. I was told I was the approved buyer for this car yesterday too Phil. This is all fraud. Have already contacted the police in 2 cities and the FBI. You'll be sorry sweetheart.

OldSchool AG
10-14-2005, 11:02 AM
a pretty obvious scam. i hope you didn't send any money.

I think Mr. McCracken was just joking. =)

turbo329
10-14-2005, 11:27 AM
Excuse me for being stupid. Just joined this forum a little while ago. And the scammer is a contributor to this forum. Aren't we all dumb now Old school?

fusilier
10-14-2005, 11:34 AM
Here is the original sale from an Audi dealership.
It was watched here because the value of the sale reflects on the value of our cars. The Levity some of us show to the bad listing is equal to the concern than an honest quattrophile might get caught up in the scam. Hence the reports of fraud to Ebay on that listing from members of this forum that got that listing pulled. (Its not the first fraudulent urquattro listing on Ebay that was removed by the actions of people on this forum).

Hope you didn't send the scammer any money, but honestly a very poor auction.<ul><li><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1984-AUDI-UR-TURBO-QUATTRO-ORIG-MSRP-OF-35K-NO-RESERVE_W0QQitemZ4573349558QQcategoryZ6055QQrdZ1QQ cmdZViewItem">http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1984-AUDI-UR-TURBO-QUATTRO-ORIG-MSRP-OF-35K-NO-RESERVE_W0QQi

OldSchool AG
10-14-2005, 12:34 PM
if you've seen one of these scams, you've seen them all pretty much. this one was nothing new. just glancing at the auction it looked pretty legit, nice pictures, fancy html, etc, but like i said, read the fine print and it's clearly a scam.

squidix9
10-15-2005, 04:28 PM
I looked at that ad, and nothing jumped out at me that it was a fraud. Until it was posted here, and some of the folks posted some of the research thay had done, it wasn't entirely that obvious. In time they tipped their hand, but at first glance it seemed legit to me.

OldSchool AG
10-17-2005, 03:08 PM
"...this transaction meets all the conditions of the fraud warning in Western Union's number one FAQ entry..."<ul><li><a href="http://forums.audiworld.com/quattro/msgs/12812.phtml">http://forums.audiworld.com/quattro/msgs/12812.phtml</a</li></ul>

urq20vt
10-19-2005, 03:06 PM
OK, so I _did_ know that the same car actually did sell on ebay three week previous to that listing, and I posted the link to the forum.

Here were the scam tipoffs that I saw:
1. Seller had 0 feedback. I never trust a 0 feedback seller.
2. The description said that they would sell for $4k, but there was no "buy it now". This means they were looking to circumvent ebay, also meaning no ebay protection. BIG SCAM alert, especially given #1. Not to mention that the price was VERY low.
3. The bidding had gotten up to $6k. WHY would they sell outside of ebay for $4k if they had an ebay buyer for $6k? Scam, scam, scam...

racingiron
10-20-2005, 08:03 AM
Why would they want to hide the bidders from each other? It's not like this is something you'd be embarrased to bid on, like a used pair of XXL panties. They didn't want anyone to be able to warn other bidders.

Lots of little clues that add up...