View Full Version : Dying to buy, but confused about carorder.com (checked archives)


dj
08-21-1999, 02:48 PM
First of all, I just want to say that this has got to be the best forum I've ever come across...

I've searched the archives and have been unable to reach Carorder by phone, so I was wondering if somebody might know the answers to a few remaining, nagging questions.

First, do they only do business in California? I know their website seems to indicate so, but I've gotten some mixed messages from various posts. Also, do they actually fly people out to pick up their vehicles? I thought I read that somewhere. I live in Kansas City and was hoping they went through dealers either locally or at least from a bordering state.

Second, how does the payment structure work? Their website said that you first put down $500 to secure the order and the rest you pay to the dealer. Do you pay the dealer immediately after the order is made or upon receipt of the vehicle?

Thanks in advance for your responses...

dj

Sean G
08-21-1999, 04:55 PM
I can't help you on the areas serviced question as I live in California. I heard that they've just started serving other states but you'll have to confirm that with them.

As far as the initial payment goes what is really happening is you give them your credit card and they forward it to the dealer who they work with in your area. The dealer then charges the $500 fee as a deposit. You are NOT paying CarOrder.Com. The deposit is applied to the purchase/lease of your vehicle. You handle the rest of the financing/payment once the car is delivered. If you have the car delivered to your door then you will have to handle the paperwork via mail with the dealer.

Hope this helps.

Sean
97 1.8Tqm RIP
99.5 1.8Tqm<ul><li><a href="http://www.seansa4page.com">Sean's A4 Page</a></li></ul>

DB
08-21-1999, 07:33 PM
Check the FAQ's at caroder.com. Says service is currently available in California only, but "soon" to be Texas and the rest of the US.

StevenN
08-21-1999, 08:42 PM
I've read most of the posts and Sean's adventure about CarOrder.com, and I still have trouble believing it. In fact, I printed out what I read and showed it to people where I work (at a major daily newspaper). Without exception, they all responded with comments to the effect of: "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is."

Does anybody have an e-mail address or phone number for CarOrder.com? I would like to call them and get the scoop for myself. Thanks.

StevenN '96 2.8qm Emerald Green

Philip Maland
08-21-1999, 09:39 PM
And the day they have '00 pricing up, I <u>will</u> order from them (assuming they still sell it at invoice)!

If the web site doesn't have taxes and stuff for your location, call 'em up on the phone. They've been pretty helpful with me so far.

- Phil

MikeSS
08-22-1999, 03:05 AM
While I didn't qualify at the time to use carorder.com (I wasn't in CA), I believe in the concept. I ordered through carsdirect.com while they were offering "invoice pricing" sales and took delivery last Wednesday. The amount I owned the dealer was invoice price plus some minor fees that there was no way around(advertising share, lemon law donation). Carsdirect sent a check for the difference between the price they negotiated with the dealer and the invoice price. I'm a very happy new A4 owner!!!

MikeN
08-22-1999, 06:45 AM
A few people on this board have already received their A4s from carOrder.com.

I've been at the local Bay Area dealer that delivers their CA cars - they've delivered dozens (and yes the buyer pays invoice and CarOrder pays the dealer additional for their profit).

There's nothing to fear except paying too much elsewhere!

From their website, under "Contact":
Customer Service: 1-888-657-CARS(2277)
carOrder@carOrder.com
Company Info:
carOrder.com
6304 W. Courtyard Dr.
Austin, TX 78730

Steve S.
08-22-1999, 07:57 AM
Call Dave Liebenson at Rector Audi in Burlingame California and talk specifically
about how he has worked with CarOrder.com in California. Sean is a good friend
of mine and I can assure you that he got the deal that he said. I also know Dave
Liebenson at Rector (Christine S and Ruben bought their cars from Dave @ Rector).
This is no hoax, no scam, this is a company trying to get awareness about their
service by literally giving away their commission for a short period of time. Soon,
they WILL NOT offer this anymore. So, I suggest you quickly do your research,
get an acceptable comfort level and then go forward. The most important thing is
timing...if you snooze..you LOSE.

I hope this helped your decision.

Steve S.
97 2.8QM
00 S4 (feb?)

-
08-23-1999, 07:59 AM
...you aren't in CA or TX. I live in Michigan and they said I could use their service. The only catch: they won't place an order for a 2000 until 2000 prices are available. They wouldn't agree to zero or an amount over invoice. They need to know the exact amount. You should give them a call so you can hear it from the source. Their number is 888-657-2277.