A8 / S8 (D4 Platform) Discussion Discussion Forum for the D4 Audi A8 Produced from 2010-2017 Audi S8 produced from 2012-2017
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

WTH? Starting to think going Audi was a mistake...

Old 09-01-2014, 01:05 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry WTH? Starting to think going Audi was a mistake...

Admittedly, the ACC issue I posted about yesterday was due to accidental damage, but so far, since I've purchased this A8L, I am starting to having second thoughts... Today, yet another strange thing to add to my list:

I was using a power washer at a nearby self-washing joint and TWO pieces of trim blew off. What the HELL, Audi? I've been using this same power washer since 2005 and none of my Infinitis every lost door handle trim or trim of any kind. I saw the second one blow off and found the first one over along the edge of the garage. Both had their plastic clips on the inside snapped off.

The bracket that houses the night-vision camera also came loose and was flapping around inside the grill. It was not completely off, but it was definitely detached on one side.

Between this, the driver's seat that developed a rocking motion during the first week, the stereo rattle that sounds like the trunk is about to fly apart (every time there's a kick drum or anything lower frequency I get treated to "brap-brap-brap"), the ashtrays that don't open anymore... I am starting to think that German cars aren't for me.

I know this can likely be taken care of under warranty, but DAMN! Someone talk me down here, because this is starting to get on my nerves and I'm thinking a trip to Carmax to make this someone else's problem is worth a shot...
Old 09-01-2014, 05:46 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Did you buy this car new or used?
Old 09-01-2014, 07:41 PM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by Lazydog
Did you buy this car new or used?
Used under factory warranty. Clean Carfax. Car drives like a dream, but these little things irk me.