A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Will XM radio module work in another Audi?

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2014, 09:41 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Will XM radio module work in another Audi?

I have an 05 A8 with XM radio, I might either trade in the vehicle or sell it. If I decide to get rid of the car, I will be getting another Audi, most likely an A6. Does anyone know if the XM module from my car work in an A6? Want to keep it because I have a lengthy subscription. Thanks
Old 01-16-2014, 10:23 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 89 Likes on 80 Posts

I think it should work since parts are interchangeable as long as the A6 has MMI 2G.
Old 01-17-2014, 06:11 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yes it will work. I recently switched the module from my 04 D3 to my 05 D3. As long as all the wires are there on the A6 you are good. The ones that doesn't have the XM, the MOST plug has a fiberoptic ring plugged in to it kinda like a electric outlet junction box in your house. All you have to do is unplug that ring and plug that MOST ring into your XM module and it will work like factory. Otherwise if you don't plug that ring in your other car that will get rid of the whole MMI shuts down and nothing will work. If you have any questions feel free to ask.
Old 01-17-2014, 07:08 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 584 Likes on 490 Posts
Default I'm more skeptical on this...

than the other replies. Within years of the D3 probably yes, and across from the D3 to the C6 A6 of the same era, more likely too. If you mean a new/current C7 A6 though (or a D4 for that matter), I have a lot more doubt.