A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Soft-Close Trunk; Literally a Ten- Minute Fix! (Thanks Mishar)

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2014, 02:27 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 83 Likes on 69 Posts
Default Soft-Close Trunk; Literally a Ten- Minute Fix! (Thanks Mishar)

I've been putting it off for one reason or another for two years. Today I fixed it using only a pry tool to get the little trim fasteners out and a pair of needle-nose pliers!
The spring is not much bigger than a pen spring. Only one trim piece has to come off!
I am HAPPY!
I took pictures, hopefully I'll have time to post them soon!

Thanks Misha!

-Tom
Old 05-18-2014, 12:11 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Please some some pics of the striker plate assembly, mine seems totally locked up but the spring is there and intact. I really would like to be able to repair instead of replace.
Old 05-18-2014, 01:15 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Can you hear the motor function when you shut the lid? Here are two pics; one without the spring and one with the spring in place, which holds the latch up. (in reverse order).
I'm afraid your motor may not be trying. Pretty sure the switch is in the lid part of the latch. Could be that, or the motor or fuse, of course.
Attached Images   
The following users liked this post:
Karbonblack (04-23-2023)
Old 05-18-2014, 08:21 PM
mcs
AudiWorld Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

With my car, the cable end came off at the motor location.

The motor still works and I have another motor coming from the USA (Aussie price is around $600 for that motor)

If the cable breaks, you have to buy a new motor with the striker plate. I have tried rebuilding mine but it only lasted about a month.
Old 05-20-2014, 05:30 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts
Default questions...

Originally Posted by aTOMic*