A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbe Here - looking at an S8

Old 05-07-2012, 12:34 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbe Here - looking at an S8

Well I am new to the Audi world, but have always been impressed with them.

Have had the chence to run with Audi Club of North America on their first HPDE at Daytona Int'l Speedway where I was tracking my Mini Cooper S.

Now I find myself finally looking to get one of the famed 4 oval vehicles.

The wife and I are looking at a 2009 S8, 30k miles on her and nothing that I can planly see is an issue. She is still covered under warranty so my hopes are that if there is anything that needed replacing, it was done.

Anything that I should keep an eye out for do these have any known issues?

thanks for any help!
Old 05-07-2012, 12:56 PM
idf
Audiworld Junior Member

Welcome...

I test drove one of these once, what a beast.

Just be aware of post warranty maintenance. These cars are expensive to run in any spec. That V10 is a much rarer engine than the 4.2.

When does the warranty run out? I would consider an extended warranty as well.
Old 05-07-2012, 01:06 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

Welcome! 30K is a new car. You should not have any problem with it. Maintenance is not cheep, but if you can do things yourself, brakes for example, it is not too bad. For example again, four corners brake job, including rotors, $700 for OEM parts.

Go for it. You only live once.
Old 05-07-2012, 01:28 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 116 Likes on 94 Posts

Originally Posted by mishar
Welcome! 30K is a new car. You should not have any problem with it. Maintenance is not cheep, but if you can do things yourself, brakes for example, it is not too bad. For example again, four corners brake job, including rotors, $700 for OEM parts.

Go for it. You only live once.