A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking into purchasing an 06ish A8. A few questions...

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2010, 04:07 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking into purchasing an 06ish A8. A few questions...

I'm a newbie, but I'm getting pretty "into" my car search. I don't want to spend over $35,000. I want the look of an '06 or newer (front). I'm a younger guy and think the long body is a little "too much" for me. From what I've seen, about 75% of the vehicles are long bodies.

1)Changes: Were there major changes from 06-2010? Probably small things like the bluetooth may not be as good, navi cd may be old, etc? Or is it major stuff in the way of options, or minor body changes? I don't need it completely loaded to the gills (solar roof, massage, etc), but do want it pretty loaded up. Solar roof would actually be nice here in SC. I'd assume and hope navi is standard even in '06? Maybe the more standard wheels are bigger and a little better looking in the last 3 years when compared to 06-07? You tell me...I'm just trying to learn.

2)Because I want to stay under $35,000 I know that I may need to make some sacrifices. If you were me, what would those sacrifices be? Obviously there are going to be fairly substantial miles on the one I purchase. In your opinions, what is the "danger zone"? I know there are so many variables (how meticulous was owner, what is service history, highway or city miles, etc. Let's assume the owner was a decent guy, but probably not as "into" his Audi as most of us.

3) What are the major service intervals? I'd imagine this puppy won't be as cheap to maintain as my japanese vehicles. Probably a big $ service somewhere near 45K-60K? What are the major issues that I need to look out for on a 4-5 year old Audi with 50K plus miles?